Qosc´o: Navel of the Earth.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
February 9th 2006
Published: February 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This guy was sent on a journey to find the navel of the earth. He found it nine thousand feet above sea level in the Andes.

Cuzco is a great town. It was once the capital of the Incan empire, than a colonial outpost, and now its an international travel destination because of it´s proximity to Macchu Picchu.

On Tuesday, I checked out of my hotel in Trujillo at 2pm. I spent the next eight hours wandering the streets of that colonial town. I tried this new game called: pretend you don´t speak English (or Spanish).

These guys who seemed like they were trying to rob me, but were really trying to sell me soda, started asking me where I was from in Spanish, then English.

I pretended like I barely understood what they were saying. Eventually I told them I was from Poland. But this guy said he could speak Polish. So I said I was from next to Poland: Letrovia... shit don´t exist. So I thought I could play that off well. Well I couldn´t. It is really hard to pretend you don´t understand languages.

Because I was so fed up with my inability to falsify my nationality I did the only thing I could think of to make myself feel better. That´s right I went to see Cheaper by the Dozen 2.

So much better than the original! Primarily because I couldn´t understand the unfunny jokes or tired plot line. Although I´ve got to say that Steve Martín and Eugene Levy fell a lot, and that was kind of funny for me, and hilarious for the audience.

I was disappointed that I couldn´t make the double feature of Cheaper by the Dozen 2 and Yours, Mine, and Ours... because I had to catch a ten-hour overnight bus to Lima.

I got to Lima, rushed to the airport, got on a plane, arrived in Cuzco.

I met two other travellers. So, a German guy, a Canadian guy, and an American guy get into a cab headed for Cuzco...

We found a decent hostal and got some food. That night we went to a fútbol game Cuzco versus the Chivas from Guadalajara Mexico. It was pretty fun, even though no points were made in the eighty five minutes that we were there.. they were made in the last two minutes of the game.

Afterwards we went to some bars, and stayed out late... it was fun to be able to get drunk again after my week-long sickness.

Today I went to museums in Cuzco... anyway... I´ll probably be going to Macchu Picchu sometime soon.. and then to Lake Titicaca, the world´s highest hilariously named body of water.

PEACE.

Advertisement



10th February 2006

for once your write
for once your write, lake Titicaca is the worlds highest hilariouly named body of water. i am glad to hear that you are well enough to drink again. have fun <3

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb