Colliding With Stars in Cuzco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
June 30th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

June 26: Had a run in with two of my favorite actors in Cusco on Thursday. Dominic Monaghan and Evangeline Lily. Never heard of them, you say? Well, Monaghan played the chipper hobbit Merry in The Lord of the Rings movies, and Lily currently stars in the television drama LOST (Monaghan is a former co-star on the show). You never know who you´ll meet on the road, I guess. Hostel was dead, which was peasant accept for the lack of hot water and electric shocks in the shower, so we relocated to San Blas neighborhood.

June 27: Went white water river rafting on the Rio Urubamba, which was a blast save for my foolishness in not removing my shoes when I put on my wetsuit. They dried during our train ride to Aguas Calientes the following morning, while I was trying to catch up on my sleep after a night on the town with new friends.

June 28: Arrived at Machu Picchu and sat contemplating the ruins for several hours before getting up and walking around the site. How marvelous. Watching other people´s experiences at the former Incan complex was truly interesting as well. Some meditated, some seemed utterly
Machu PicchuMachu PicchuMachu Picchu

In all it´s glory
awe struck, some yelled that they didn´t have time for this or that and had to hurry back to the bus, some seemed to be in a trancelike state, but most just snapped a few photos and left. What a pity for them. Machu Picchu truly deserves the title of a ¨New World Wonder¨for it´s brilliance, mystique, and magnificence. My experience is ineffible, of course, but I can say with certainty that it was one of the highlights of my trip so far.

I woke today and wandered around Cusco one last time. Watched the Spanish team defeat Germany in the Eurocup finals and witnessed frenzied men clad in Spain´s jersey pump their fists and party in the streets. Hailed a cab and arrived at my current location in Cusco´s bus terminal, listening to the calls of people pushing services to Arequipa, Lima, Ica, and many unfamiliar sounding places. I´m off to Puno in a few hours for a brief visit to the Peruvian side of Lake Titicaca before hoping on another bus and heading to Bolivia. Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

CuscoCusco
Cusco

Compañia de Jesus church in the Plaza de Armas
Just Before the Llama SacrificeJust Before the Llama Sacrifice
Just Before the Llama Sacrifice

Inti Raymi Festival, Saqsaywaman.
Mountains over Rio UrubambaMountains over Rio Urubamba
Mountains over Rio Urubamba

A tranquil spot down river from where I was rafting.
In the DunesIn the Dunes
In the Dunes

Huacachina, Peru
Dunes of HuacachinaDunes of Huacachina
Dunes of Huacachina

Two travelers about to get dirty.


4th July 2008

Amazing photographs :o)
I am so happy you've added photos, I love to see what you are up to! One of these days, I will remember to bring my USB cord with me to Kumasi and then I can upload some photos too! Until then, much love!
9th July 2008

Great pictures!
We just got back from South Dakota and I'm so glad to hear from you. I love your pictures! I'm glad you liked Machu Picchu!! I can't wait to here about the last part of your trip in Peru, the Lago Titicaca. By now, you should be in Buenos Aires. Have a wonderful time in Argentina! Please, keep us informed about the rest of your trip. Take care! Marcela

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb