The Big MP


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
October 25th 2005
Published: October 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

From Puno I went to the lovely gringo-filled city of Cusco. My introduction to the place wasn't the best because the bus broke down and was really late, the person that was meant to greet me from the hostel wasn't there and when i made my way to the hostel to get my room that i booked and paid for in Puno, i found that my room wasn't booked and paid for and the hostel had never heard of the person that organised it for me. I'd been swindled!

The hotel was full so it meant a lot of wandering around, going to other hostels that were also full, late at night trying to find some place to stay. The problem was finally solved after a couple of hours, and I found a place and crashed, woke and had a good next day.

After another night, I caught the train through some beautiful scenery to Aguas Calientes at the foot of Machu Pichu.

I think they should have t-shirts for people like me, that say 'I went to Machu Pichu and didn't do the Inca Trail. I did, however, wake up at 4am and climb the stairs from Aguas Calientes to Machu Pichu' because that was a feat in itself.

The information I got was that the gates open at 6am and the first tourist bus arrives at 7am. The plan was to completely avert all of the tourists (bloody tourists!) and arrive when the gates opened. However, when I arrived, sweaty and puffed, just before 6am, two tourist buses had already arrived.

Nevertheless, I did manage to take a few photo's before the colourful specks of bright, new polarfleeces appeared in the green pastures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Machu PichuMachu Pichu
Machu Pichu

...and a llama for good measure.


1st November 2005

Im disgusted!
Kate i cannot believe you didn't do the inca trail, its the most amazing thing i did when i was in Peru. Hang your head in shame young lady.....!
2nd December 2005

Dont Agree
Me and the |Scottish took the train to the people who walked for 4 days in the rain wouldnt have seen the sun set and probabley didnt get a drink and a smoke HA!!!

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb