Just 17 Days


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
August 24th 2007
Published: August 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Why am I going to Peru? This is the question that I get most often. To learn Spanish. Yes, but why PERU??

The story goes like this: I started studying Spanish as an elective during my commerce undergrad and love it! This started my passion for the language and the culture so I decided to postpone my graduation and apply for a semester in Argentina. Long story short, I didn't get it but was accepted to Mexico. In trying to decide whether to suck it up and go there or to decline and find my own way to Argentina I realized that it had to be South America. After months of searching online I found a school in Peru that would set me up with a volunteer position and a host family and that I could afford.

As of yet I have:
-my passport
-booked my plane ticket
-bought medical insurance
-booked the school
-ordered peruvian currency (nuevo soles)
-got the proper credit card

I still must:
-apply for my health coverage at home to be extended
-order travelers cheques
-buy supplies like a money belt, good shoes, etc.
-buy gifts for my host family
-photocopy important paperwork and passports, etc.
-buy a smaller digital camera

One question that is getting me: do I bring my laptop? I wonder what the chance of there being access to wireless internet. This has been sneaking up on me, I can't believe you saldre en diecisiete dias.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb