Pictures from Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 18th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pictures from Cusco




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

A Room with a ViewA Room with a View
A Room with a View

This is the view from my bedroom at the house of Edgar and Hermalinda Pacheco. For those of you who know Cusco, they live in Manuel Prado.
Pacheco Family ReunionPacheco Family Reunion
Pacheco Family Reunion

I arrived at Edgar and Hermalinda´s house in the midst of a family reunion. Their family from nearby were there, of course, but they also had family visiting from Italy and Sweden. Edgar is wearing the blue shirt, and Hermalinda is wearing the brown sweater and standing behind the woman in the red top.
The BarbequeThe Barbeque
The Barbeque

I probably ate more meat on Sunday than I had in the previous three months. Among other things, we had anticuchos - skewers of beef heart grilled with an excellent sauce. Muy rico.
My RoomMy Room
My Room

This is a view of my room from the courtyard. Note the tiny spiral staircase.
Plaza San BlasPlaza San Blas
Plaza San Blas

This is the plaza just outside the Spanish school where I am currently taking some intensive Spanish lessons. The director of the Spanish school is also the coordinator for all the United Planet volunteers.
San Blas Spanish SchoolSan Blas Spanish School
San Blas Spanish School

This is the front door of the Spanish school. I am meeting one on one with an excellent tutor, Deny, who originally comes from a city in the jungle. I will be taking Spanish lessons every morning this week.
A View of the AndesA View of the Andes
A View of the Andes

I took this picture while standing outside the door of the Spanish school looking out over Plaza San Blas.
Interesting MessageInteresting Message
Interesting Message

This message covers an entire hillside. One can see this from the Plaza San Blas. ¨BIM 9,¨ I believe, is a military unit.
Cusqueñan TaxiCusqueñan Taxi
Cusqueñan Taxi

This is one of the ubiquitous taxis of Cusco. I believe there are more taxis than tourists and residents put together.
El Calle de HatunrumiyocEl Calle de Hatunrumiyoc
El Calle de Hatunrumiyoc

This street, Hatunrumiyoc, leads down to the Plaza de Armas, the main Plaza in Cusco. I am totally fascinated with Incan stonework which you can see in the walls lining this street. The stones fit as closely as pieces in a jigsaw puzzle, which is no mean feat considering the multiple and peculiar angles at which they meet.
The Famous Twelve-cornered StoneThe Famous Twelve-cornered Stone
The Famous Twelve-cornered Stone

My tour guide directed my attention to this stone featuring twelve corners, a great example of the painstaking work of polishing necessary to make the stones fit together so perfectly. This particular stone is quite famous, and you will always find it surrounded by tourists and a local Cusqueño dressed up as Manko Qhapaq, the first Inca king. At least that´s who I think he represents. The stone features twelve corners, which apparently represents twelve families - six families who once lived north of Cusco, and six families who lived south of Cusco.
Another Incan StoneAnother Incan Stone
Another Incan Stone

This stone is a good deal smaller than the previous one, but it´s remarkable nonetheless for its many corners.
Spanish versus Incan StoneworkSpanish versus Incan Stonework
Spanish versus Incan Stonework

The Spanish Conquistadors knocked down much of this Incan wall and then rebuilt it with their own really lousy masonry. You can see examples like this all over Cusco.
Cathedral in the Plaza de ArmasCathedral in the Plaza de Armas
Cathedral in the Plaza de Armas

Of course, the Spanish had some skilled masons, as well.
Contrasting ArchitectureContrasting Architecture
Contrasting Architecture

In the foreground you can see the foundation of an Incan stone wall that has been mostly pulled down and topped with an obviously inferior Spanish stone wall. In the midground, you can see adobe buildings with red tile rooves. Beyond that you can see the tower of a Spanish cathedral.


19th July 2007

Hello
Mr. Rackowitz, I sure hope you are having a fun time in Peru. I absolutely love the pictures you sent. The view is spectacular. Actually, the view reminds me of a book I read, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. One of the main characters went to Greece and the view looks quite a bit the same. Keep sending photos and stories! Hannah
25th July 2007

Spanish Rocks
Those look eerily like most of the highways in Minneapolis this month. All that's missing is about 49,000 orange cones. I'm enjoying the journal and photos, thanks!
30th July 2007

I'm so Jealous!
I'm so jealous, Chad - what a wonderful trip! I've always wanted to go to Peru - thanks for the pictures! Susan B
13th August 2007

Wow!
Chad, I'm so glad you did this travel blog. I'm loving hearing all about your travels and the beautiful places that you are seeing. Keep posting! Carolyn

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb