22 porters and 1 cook for 19 gringos


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
August 8th 2005
Published: August 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de ArmasPlaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas

From the balconey of our lunch place
Oh my god!! Did I really sleep for 13 hours? At 9AM, my travel mate, Saggy Buns, woke me by speaking my name. My bleary eyes opened to find him already dressed and ready for breakfast. The breakfasts here have a lot to be desired. The toast is not really toast at all - just some airy crumbs.

Anyhow, we spent the morning having a lazy lunch at Tunuupa where we had an excellent view of the main plaza here, Plaza de Armas. Nice views and the buffet was extremely filling as I pigged out! Hey, I'm gonna need the calories on the Inca trail. I also had my first taste of the local drink of choice, a pisco sour. Tastes a lot like an overly fermented martini.

After our meal, we managed to catch up with a city tour where we went to Qorichancha. This was an interesting place that demonstrated the skill of the Incan builders. All their buildings were made of stone without any mortar. Some of the stones are extremely large and heavy, but I found I think the smallest stone they ever used.

The tour also took us up to Sacsayhuaman (which sounds
Silly BunsSilly BunsSilly Buns

At lunch
a lot like "sexy woman"). Again, more amazing Incan stonework. Some of the stones put together seem to etch out animals in the wall such as a platypus. I even found my own picture in the stonework. Did the incans box much? Hmmmm...

Our evening was low-key as we had our orientation meeting for our Inca trail trek. I am shocked and ashamed to discover that to help our sorry asses along, we need the help of 22 porters to schlep our stuff up the mountains. Gawwwd!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

QorichanchaQorichancha
Qorichancha

Some of the old incan art work
Smallest Incan stoneSmallest Incan stone
Smallest Incan stone

As explained by our guide
SacsayhuamanSacsayhuaman
Sacsayhuaman

Up in the hills of Cusco.
PlatypusPlatypus
Platypus

Head is to the left.
Boxing GloveBoxing Glove
Boxing Glove

Am I the only one who sees this?
At nightAt night
At night

Just gettin' to know the locals.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb