Cusco: Valley of Culture and Cuba Libres


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post


It looked like a moving coffin for the living. I stood amongst the mass of people flowing through Lima"s bus station and stared up at my transport. The cheapest available ticket had led me to stand in the shadow of this crumbling bus and I anticipated with dread the trip ahead. Departing Lima, the bus will snake its way across the mountains of Peru to Cusco in the east, taking a little over 24 hours to complete the journey. Throwing my backpack in the storage underneath, I climbed aboard, found my seat and tried to make myself comfortable.
The trip was long and tiring but not the excruciating experience I had predicted. We did however have to push start the bus twice to get the engine to roar into life, the roof leaked directly over my seat and there were scolding hot metal panels that lined the floor, making it very difficult to find any sleep without the real risk of burning your feet. Still, I had a spare seat next to me a lot of the way which at least meant gave me some space to stretch out and when we finally saw Cusco on the horizon, I was tired but content.

Cusco, capital of the former Inca Empire, is a bustling city that boasts 300,000 inhabitants. Nestled at 3,500m in the Andes mountain range, the city has a vast array of Andean and Spanish influences, predominantly seen in the architecture and art. With grand plazas, magnificent historical churces, palaces and houses and friendly people, Cusco is one of the most beautiful cities in Peru. And with the Sacred Valley and the Lost City of the Incas (Macchu Picchu) within a few hours, it is also the nation"s tourist hotspot.
Today, however, Cusco blends this rich history with a thriving nightlife and many cafes and restaurants that are scattered amongst the narrow, cobbled streets. Every day here is a party and our hostal, Loki, is there to promote the nocturnal side in us all. A mansion formerly belonging to an ex-President of Peru, it is a 170 bed hostal with a popular bar area that also serves great food. Each night, big groups of backpackers gather to drink, exchange stories and plan future adventures. And then the throng of travellers venture out into the night to gather the free drinks from the crowds of promoters outside the clubs and dance into the early morning light.
It is the history and culture of this amazing city, however, that holds the greatest attraction. Only ten minutes away are a handful of Incan ruins and around the city are many markets selling tradition Andean and Incan statues, clothing and jewellery. Cusco has managed to preserve the incredible history of the area whilst at the same time offering a modern, welcoming city for the traveller. With only a week or so left in the country, I will leave Peru with Cusco as my favourite city...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb