Parasailing is not quite as easy as I first thought


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 3rd 1999
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Parasailing test siteParasailing test siteParasailing test site

Overlooking the Sacred Valley. This is 3 photos put together to give an idea of the scale of the view
1999……….6wks SOUTH AMERICA-ARGENTINA, PERU............
Today was a day of getting things done. I decided to do the parasailing course- 3 days starting 6am to 11am and then some training at night. (US$95). There are only two of us doing it. The first day is running on a slope to get the idea. The 2nd day is going off an 8m hill. Day 3 is off at 800m.


I didn’t sleep terribly well knowing that I had to get up at 5.15am to be ready. What an unforgettable experience! I hope I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew. We drove in a minibus- the two of us and three staff for about 45 minutes out to an amazing hill overlooking the Sacred Valley with snow capped peaks. We were about 3,800m. We even saw the pyramid shape of Salakantay lit up with the morning sun rising above the lower mountains not illuminated.
Parasailing is not quite as easy as I first thought. There is a lot to remember that happens in a few seconds. Basically you harness up to a chute lying flat on the ground. There are four groups of cords in each hand initially. Before you take off you just hold the brake and one group called ‘A’. This group has lines to the front of the chute which creates a leading edge like on plane wing. You then run like mad (not an easy feat at that altitude), arms back until the chute fills with air and takes your hands up over your head. You then drop your arms to about chest level which puts the brake on about 20 percent. Full brake is hands by your side. Moving the hand slowly down on either side causes it to brake on that side and so to turn that way. It has top be done with the arms even, not out too far and controlled. Leo stood down the hill a bit and shouts directions. After a few attempts when we both were sitting down when we should still be running he put a walkie talkie on our shoulders on the harness. Joseph, who is from the U.K. got three brief flights in but I had trouble getting Leo’s instruction of “leave it” mixed up between letting ‘A’ go and putting on the brake. I twisted my ankle slightly on the rough terrain.

It’s really scary as the hill is so high as it is- immensely picturesque though. I was also put off by one of the staff who flew initially to show us. He took off from this hill that seems incredibly high but is actually only 8 m. He braked unevenly, turned into the hill and twisted his ankle fairly badly. This is before we even started! This is the hill we will be launching off tomorrow with some more practice on the slope. Gulp!

We had to move hills a bit as the wind changed direction and then stopped altogether as it became unsafe at about 10am. I really can’t imagine taking off a hill at 880m- we’ll see.

Sunday 5th Sept 1999 Cusco
Up again for setting off at 6am. I didn’t do so well again. I twisted my ankle a bit yesterday and my muscles above my thigh were incredibly sore from being stretched running furiously down the hill. I had two attempts and decided to pull out as fear and further injury would stop me fulfilling my other plans of Machu Picchu, Colca Canyon and Huaraz. It was difficult seeing Joseph successfully go off the 8m hill three times and land perfectly. I would love to be up there but my fear and injury prevents me from wanting to persevere.

I decided not to go out on the 3rd day and instead do the Inca Trail and so organised it when we got back to Cusco. We saw the hill that Joseph will be taking off from on our way back this morning. Woooo, it’s high! I met them again that night to view a video in preparation of Joseph’s flight the next day. The video was scary in that it demonstrates what can go wrong with pilot error and in turbulence. The main danger is crashing into the hill!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 104; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb