Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
December 12th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The past week we have spent in Cusco, Peru. After arriving, it took a few days to get acclimated to the altitude. Both Scott and Craig dealt with 24 hour illnesses, which luckily I escaped. While each of them spent a day in the infirmary, I and whoever was healthy for the day, wandered the city to see what we could find. Cusco is really a very cool place. All the streets are cobblestone and about 10 feet wide. There are art gallery's all over the place, which seem to be very affordable. The Plaza de Armas is surrounded by beautiful churches and 50,000 different people asking for us to come sit in their restaurant, have a drink at their bar, or buy their hand-made watercolor postcards. Aside from the standard goods, you can get your shoes shined (which I regrettably had to pass on due to my New Balances), take pictures with women holding baby llamas or (alpacas), or buy hand made knitted goods (I got a pair of socks to have for the Incan Trail). This city is very laid back, and the setting is amazing (completely surrounded by mountains). Again, the air pollution is pretty noticeable, so sucking down exhaust makes breathing at this altitude even more fun.

Anyways, we have really enjoyed our time in Cusco, and would highly recommend it to anyone heading to Peru. We have been very pleased with the food and again, all the people we have met, have been extremely friendly. The only thing I can complain about are the pickpockets at the bars. I basically watched as these two girls tried some scheme of one of them acting drunk and falling all over people while the other reached for pockets. Pretty sloppy job by those two... nothing a few Alscan cameras couldn't take care of.

Tomorrow we leave for the four day hike on the Incan Trail towards Machu Piccu. All three of us have been looking forward to this since August, so we're anxious to get started. I know and have met numerous people who have hiked the trail, so I'm not overly worried and think I have a good feel for things. I guess we'll see. We met our guide this afternoon to go over what we need to bring, and spent the rest of the day gathering items. We head out tomorrow morning at 6 am and return Friday afternoon. I should have some good stories when we return.

Until then...

p.s. I have a bunch of pictures that I want to share, but haven't found a computer from this decade or last...so no luck yet, but I will upload them as soon as possible.


Advertisement



12th December 2006

I went on a very expensive trip to South America and all I got was a stinkin pair of socks! Did you pay retail?? Sounds like an awesome time....be safe! Love you!
12th December 2006

livin la vida loca
Sounds like you are having a wonderful time. Rebecca, Hanna and myself send you our love and pledge our support if you decide to buy a village and move us down there. Uncle Joe - PS: If you see any good dry-wall finishers, get their number.
14th December 2006

Ur Funny
I'm glad to see that your time in Cuzco was a good one do 2 the fact that It has alot of similarities. e.x. the pollution, food is great, people alway'z tickle your funny bone, an petty theft 215. When you wrote that entry about the girls I cried because it's like u never left NY..........Have fun on the trail, bsafe kid, waitin 4 the next one!
14th December 2006

hiking
Wish I was there with you!! Can't wait to hear about it. Munchkin loves and misses you.
14th December 2006

Brah
Do the deal bro. I hate USC
15th December 2006

??
Where are you guys..? JJ
17th December 2006

Go Marc
It sounds like you're having quite a time - I enjoy reading your observations. You'll be buff when you get back...

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb