The end of the (cycling) road


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 4th 2011
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The injuryThe injuryThe injury

Stitches and a very swollen knee!
After four and a half months on the road, 7000km worth of cycling and visiting 4 different countries, my time cycling has been forced prematurely to an end. On the second day of the Inka Jungle trek to Machu Picchu, after a severe rainstorm which has lasted 4 days now, a stray rock from a rockfall on the road we were walking hit my leg just below the knee. It cut my leg to the bone and forced me to return to the nearest town to get it stitched up. Luckily the doctor said there is no tendon or nerve damage so there should be no long term problems, just a month without exercise and a bad limp while it heals. Gutted doesn't even begin to describe how i feel right now, after completing two thirds of my trip and not being able to finish it off by bike, but after taking some time to recover in Cusco i plan to make my way to Bogota still but by bus. I'll keep up the blog but will just be travelling by bus rather than bike from now on!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb