Beginnings


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I Was rudely awakened today by motion sickness on my 18 hours bus from Ica to Cuzco, but fortunately, to the sight of the sun just rising over the snow-capped Peruvian Andes. Cuzco is unbelievably beautiful, and I am looking forward to finally being tranquilo and staying for at least a few days. Still unsure on Inca Trail or other treks, but definitely will visit Machu Pichu.
I just came from Paracas and Ica with several Israeli and Brittish travelers. Paracas is beautiful (Islas Ballestas) but otherwise pretty uninteresting. Ica was pretty fun, as we did a wine & pico tasting and then sandboarding (as the name would imply, like snowboarding, but on sand dunes).
I was really surprised how poor coastal Peru is. One of the locals was explaining the effects of a recent earthquake in 2007 and it has taken a while to rebuild. In a way it reminded me of post-Katrina New Orleans in the widespread destruction.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.381s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb