Rio Ollantaytambo, HB riding and pics!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
April 28th 2009
Published: April 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend was a lot of fun. I was able to get out of the city and enjoy the sun. On Sat me and a couple other volunteers went horsebacking riding around the Sacsayhuaman ruins. We saw the Temple of the Monkey and the Temple of the Sun/Moon. We also explored a ton of caves all connected to each other, but our "guide" (an eight year old boy) told us to just go up there and didnt tell us the significance. It was really pretty riding through the hills and valleys and we had a great view overlooking the city.

Sunday 11 of us went river rafting down part of the Ollantaytambo river in the Sacred Valley. We rafted for about two hours and hit rapids up to class 3++. It was a lot of fun, and our guides were really great. There will be more pics to come since they are making us a picture cd and video 😊 We were also provided with a great lunch and I met three other people from UW, small world!

I am finally getting pretty familiar with the city and where things are, Im able to walk to just about anywhere which is really nice since working out here is hard. I went running the other day and my lungs felt like they were on fire, even through I was only moving about as fast as a walking pace. But I am getting used to the altitude and Im no longer winded after walking up a flight of stairs!

This friday is Peru´s Labor Day so I have a three day weekend. I think me, my housemate and one of his friends are going to head to Arequipa and Colca Canyon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



29th April 2009

Oops
The river is actually the Urabamba River...
30th April 2009

Cute pics!
Glad to see your face! :) miss you tons.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb