17th December, Cuzco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
December 17th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

17th December, Cuzco

We both woke up feeling sick, I think the so caled filtered water from the hostel the previous night was probably the cause. We got to the airport with Jake getting worse. If he hadn´t been ill I wouldnt have let him away with his comment about my ´wet hair´when it was actually just greasy! I didnt get a shower that morning as the shower head was missing (there seemed to be one to share between all the rooms!), and didnt fancy washing myself under dripping cold water.

We were flying with StarPeru that morning to Cuzco. The plane was tiny! The views over the Andes mountain range were stunning though, but the food was crap as always so I gave it to Jake. We landed at Cuzco airport, I took a picture of some men in traditional dress playing some instruments while Jake collected the bags!!

We arrived at the hostel which was nice, friendly staff. We were given coca teawhich made Jake really giddy, when its actually supposed to help altitude sickness, as Cuzco sits at 3350m.

We booked a brilliant tour that afternoon - a four hour horse ride around the Cuzco country side, a trip to Macchu Piccu for 3 days and 2 nights, included al transport, hotels, food and guide, and a bus journey to Lake Titicaca in Puno stopping for breaks at lots of ruins and markets along the way, all for $550. I was so excited! But Jake, the poor thing, had really bad altitude sickness. I took him home where he was freezing in bed for a few hours, with me getting him coca tea and chocolate cookies. I reckon he actually faking it so he could boss me around!

After a few hours we went for a walk around town and ended up being enticed into a pizza place. It was awful! Overpriced, tiny pizza to share and it made Jake worse as the meat was undercooked. So our night was cut short.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb