oh my days in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SOOOO I went to Cusco. Like I said pretty chill other than getting sick the first day. I had 3 days to kill so I decided to be a tourist haha.

My first day there I wandered the city...took pictures of the cathedral...I don't remember if I put those up or not??? Then in the evening I hung out at the bar in the hostel and just chilled and took it easy as I was still acclimating to the air.

My second day I decided to go rafting for the first time in my life :-) It was very fun!!! They were only like level 3+ rapids so nothing huge but still lots of fun. Our guides name was David and I was in a boat with 4 other people from New York. After the rapids we had some pretty good lunch. After the official tour one of the other rafting guides took me to this point in Cusco with a beautiful view of the city and the mountians...and then the rain started......and it rained and rained and rained.......and I went back to the hostel and just chilled for a while, twas good.

My third day I went
cusco2cusco2cusco2

the cathedral
on a tour on horseback all day. We stopped at some different ruins and had a guide talk to us about them and all that fun. Then I just rode around the country side, which would have been lovely but it poured most of the day so I was completely soaked and freezing cold. My rain jacket kept my body warm but my hands and legs were suffering for sure. Still it was interesting to go around and we all know how much i love horses. This was also however one of the few times I feared for my life as the trails were really steep and unstable and the horses kept tripping...It made me a little nervous...but all is well that ends well right? This night I went to a meeting with my group for the Inca Trail and got all of our information and stuff ready to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

rafting1rafting1
rafting1

our group!!!
rafting2rafting2
rafting2

A view of the river and mountains from rafting
rafting3rafting3
rafting3

On the way to the river
rafting4rafting4
rafting4

facing some rapids
rafting5rafting5
rafting5

WOO HOO everyone stayed in. No glacier water for us :-)
cusco3cusco3
cusco3

The city from above
cusco4cusco4
cusco4

Me and Rene
cusco5cusco5
cusco5

an escaped llama jaja
horses1horses1
horses1

a very steep and unstable trail
horses2horses2
horses2

baby pigs crossing the road!!!
horses3horses3
horses3

ruinas
horses4horses4
horses4

the elephant rock
horses5horses5
horses5

Me in a cave
horses6horses6
horses6

me and my pony
horses7horses7
horses7

some more ruins


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb