Cusco and environs


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
March 21st 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

my artsy shotmy artsy shotmy artsy shot

flowers in the foreground, the Inca site of Moray in the background
So, Cusco and the surrounding area is absolutely fantastic. This area reminds me a lot of Spain, which makes a lot of sense since the Spanish conquered the Inca Empire in the 16th century.

Most of the buildings are clay-mud bricks with a stucco exterior along with red clay tile roofs. It's a very attractive design especially the larger buildings with the large interior courtyards (the hostel I'm staying in has such a courtyard, 2 actually). The Loki Hostel I'm staying has a pretty remarkable history actually, if you're interested there's a quick bio here: http://www.lokihostel.com/cusco/the_house/history

Within the downtown core of Cusco there are scores of cathedrals with very ornate sculptures, paintings and murals. The main square is sided by cathedrals on 2 sides and 2 others very close. In the surrounding area there are scores of ancient Inca archaelogical sites (of which I have many photos and short descriptions).

The people here are very friendly but quite poor. It's clear that tourism is the main driver of the economy in the city as practically everyone is trying to sell something. The drivers are very aggressive, and they like to lay on the horn. This is quite entertaining at times provided you aren't trying to cross the street in front of them.

The last 2 days I've rented a motorbike and toured around some of the ancient Inca ruins in the countryside surrounding Cusco. I have pictures from day 1 of this journey, the rest will have to wait as I'm departing on my Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu at 4am (that's 8 hours from now) and I have yet to have dinner and drink my quota of beer for the evening.

As mentioned, I'm off on an Inca Trail trek over the next 4 days so you won't hear from me for a bit. My next posting will likely be from La Paz, Bolivia. I hope everyone is well, especially Ann and the kids (I know you're all right though as I talked to you this morning).

For everyone else, let me end this post by saying that I have the best wife and family in the whole world. To allow me the time to do something like this is truly wonderful, and I love you very much. I hope to return the favour someday.





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Moray, Inca siteMoray, Inca site
Moray, Inca site

the circular steps of Moray, one of the many Inca sites in the area
me, at Morayme, at Moray
me, at Moray

The steps beside me are stairs that allow you to move from one level to the next in this gigantic amphitheatre-like place.


23rd March 2008

Thanks, babe!
Thank you for making sure you are in some of the photos! Especially in a sexy motorbike outfit! Yahoo! Leafs are winning over the Sens right now (halfway through the third period). Gerber and darn rebounds...boo! I'm sure Sens will pull through in the next ten minutes! Aaaahhhh, the mountains! Keep sending photos! Have a great hike! Missing you! Wife and kids
23rd March 2008

have fun!
Shawn and I wish you lots of fun on your trek! Your adventure sounds so amazing! Looking forward to hearing your next blog:) Laura, Shawn and Cam
10th April 2008

From my hometown Strathroy
I am looking with interest at the pictures, looks like you all have a good time, I am trying to print the whole works so Mom can read them. It must be a great country nature wise, keep looking at the farming part of it and try if you could compare it with Canadian way of farming. Talk to you later. from Dad
10th April 2008

Cusco and environs
There is a print option within each entry (bottom left) but I don't know how well the pictures will turn out. The pictures are probably best viewed on your computer but the text should print out fine I would think.

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb