Perú...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
February 18th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Peru on Tuesday 12 Feb. Our first stop was a Hostel in Lima; that was not to the same standard as the Hostel in Argentina and the Taxi drivers blast their horns consistently throughout the night. Luckily Lima was a stop-over before flying North to where we both consider to be the best part of the trip yet - Cusco, Peru.

Cusco is a quaint town with nice restaurants and bearable weather; the locals are friendly and there are numerous adventure trips on offer to the Amazon and Machu Picchu.

There are two unique local dishes - Alpaca (Lama) and Guinea pig. I ordered the Guinea pig (being the “big man”) whereas Gemma stuck to a pasta dish. I did not expect to see a deep-fried rat arrive out from the kitchen! Truth be told it tasted ok, but every time I looked down on the plate I felt a bit un-well. An American Lady beside me politely asked to turn the plate away from her as she used to have a pet Guinea pig… so did I, and it did not look like that! Check out the photos.

The main reason for the trip to Cisco was to see Machu Picchu and the Inca trails. We booked this for Sunday and got the bus to the train station at 6am. Machu Picchu is fantastic! The first two hours of arrival we were brought round by a tour guide, and then we ventured around ourselves for another few hours. The view was breath-taking (literally due to the altitude), and we witnessed the weather change so many times from cloudy, raining, sun-splitting, lightning and thunder. There were also wild, but friendly Lama grazing on the mountain side.

Cusco has been our best trip yet and if your into hiking there is a four day trip that follow some of the discovered Inca trails or a few nights exploring the Amazon Jungle.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



19th February 2008

THAT PLACE LOOKS FANTASTIC I DIDN'T REALISE THAT SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PLACE IT WAS. HOPE YOUR TUMMY IS ALRIGHT IVAN
19th February 2008

Oh my god, that looks amazing! It's so beautiful, I would love to go there to see that! But I don't think I could eat a whole one!
19th February 2008

your disgusting
how did you eat that thing. i shall ask dad to catch you a rat and cook it for your return home now that you have the taste for it!Peru looks nice,glad your having a good time.
19th February 2008

Thanks but no thanks
I wouldn’t like to deprive the cats of their nutrition.
19th February 2008

I always keep a pack of Imodium for those special occassions ;)
19th February 2008

You dirty beast
That just goes to prove my theory dunner, you would face anything, aye well if it doesnt kill you, it will make you stronger! photos look good, views are similar to clabby mountain
22nd February 2008

Looks like you are having an amazing time. Well done on the exams Ivan, fair play, seems like you had a nice meal to celebrate!
23rd February 2008

Hi Dude
hi dude hope all is well. dont worry everyone is ok last week end me and gareth went for a meal in pacassies and then picked Ashley on the waybaback we went to mills then the the vally to c who was at the formal but at 3.20 nowone had come up from the function room so it must have been a good night. our new faviorate drink is tequla rose, so try it if u get the chance it is like strawberry milkshake. better get back to my guests chat soon.
25th February 2008

dunn man
Hello Ivan gareth here, down in the house with stephen! he is trying 2 let on i am thick and cant use a coumpter! Liked your picther of you and the goffer stephen has went away so I can write what i want. Missing u and the craic. Its weird talking over the web but. Hope u are having a good time! it has taking me a long time 2 write this, sorry i missed your call. They are all in my living room finding it funny that i am out here muddling through a messaging 2 u but there is a first 4 everything might have 2 buy 1 of these computer thinges Hi gemma not forgetting about u hope u are keping well and Ivan is looking after you. Thats all I have 2 say now, talk later
27th February 2008

Yummy
Hi Gemma and Ivan, Peru looks lovely and all your photos so far have been great. As for the guinea pig, no thanks, but I like the way they put a tomato on the guinea pigs head but still it somehow doesn't quiet appeal to me! Hope you are both well. PS Gemma I passed my driving test last week!!!
29th February 2008

CVRFC
Ivan/Gemma The weather is awful in the Clogher Valley, high winds and rain, but I am just on my way out to take mini rugby. I aim to toughen up these kids before they hit adult rugby. Photographs look great, but you could take more time with the aperture setting and the shutter speed!!!!!!!!!! The food looks good, especially the chicken soup, people are much to fussy back home. The Valley plays Omagh in the last game of the league tomorrow. They will probably end up 3rd in the league. Take care of your self and enjoy NZ Stephen

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb