There is a rooster


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 6th 2005
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

that crows every morning at 6am to alert me to the day. I love it!
Every lunch the grandma has fresh squeezed juice of some sort. Or,
Cecelia, some girl that must work in the house washing our clothes
(without a machine and washing our dishes in the outside sink) must
make the juice. So good! Yesterday was passionfruit, today was
starfruit. I also eat a lot of this fruit that is named chichichi or
something like that. Very very good. In the morning we just drink tea
or like powdered chocolate milk or something. And the girlfriend of
the dad is a baker and is making some damn good desserts. But no
alfajores yet. You know I´´m bummed about that.

Let me think of other interesting things.

I don´t shower much because it´s too cold... I don´t wash my face
because it´s too cold. If you don´t wear socks and shoes it´s rude. I
sleep a lot because of the altitude...

Today, with my new friend Katie, we went into some nontourist parts.
Very cool. I much prefer to see that sort of stuff. We had a coke (in
a bottle) in a roadside cafe. Awesome.

I bought an alpaca sweater and socks today. I got a little tired of
the 3´s. 3 pairs of socks, 3 sweaters, 3 pairs of pants to sleep in,
my hat, my gloves, and my scarf. I wonder if the family does the same
thing. Grandma always has on her hat, gloves, and jacket.

My teacher took me to an art gallery today. but we had to wait because
there was a protest. I guess there are lots of protests. I also saw
some kids on a church mission giving a pro life rally. I wanted to
clue them in to the fact that a. this is a catholic country b.
abortion is already illegal. But whatever...

I saw a llama. Ok, it was cool. Total tourist thing, but I was impressed.

At night we eat some bread and tea. I keep some crackers with me at
all times in case my stomach goes nuts, it really only has gotten
upset because of the altitude, nothing else. No Immodium just yet.
Sorry if that´s too much information.

Crossing the street here is a bit of a challenge. There aren´t really
lights or stop signs and they just fly by. A little nerve racking.
Then there are these transportation police that sort of mill around
the intersections and blow their whistles...

I live by the police station, so you know I´m always looking in the
interrogation room when I walk by. I haven´´t seen any brutal tactics
yet, but maybe if I´m lucky... There are tons of police that hang out
outside the banks. And there are a lot of banks here. And with bullet
proof vests.

There are so many interesting things but I can´t remember them all
right now... I had a list, but now I can´t remember. Oh, there isn´t
public transportation. These mini buses cruise by and a person hangs
out the window and yells the stops. You flag it down if you want to
get on.

Oh, and in terms of food. Refrigerate something, are you crazy? We
don´t refrigerate in Peru!!!!!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb