Waiting for Machu Picchu...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Aguas Calientes
May 15th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

15 Mayo - Aquas Caliente
I am preparing for an early morning. Fixing to take a shower and go to bed…
Okay, done with the shower. Now, to bed and then tomorrow…Machu Picchu! I am excited! But, not as excited as I would have imagined. I am glad that I'm not though, thinking it is better to go in with less expectations rather than more.
I have been preoccupied lately. I finished Spanish classes on Friday, during the last 5 weeks in Cusco, going to class has been my primary focus, but I have been spending a lot of time looking for new friends and hanging out with new friends, and not much time at all for myself.
I should have been able to relax a little these past couple of days, but I have no cash and have been trying to get some, unsuccessfully. I don't know why it is so difficult for me, but I've spent a countless amount of time trying various different avenues and am still failing. I have borrowed way too much from friends, all new and basically strangers. That has been awesome. I am amazed at the generosity that I have received.
I am wondering what my lesson is here. Am I supposed to learn humility in asking others for cash? Am I making a wrong decision by going to Bolivia? I don't know, but it is really frustrating. My only hope is that Hugo has gotten a transfer from Western Union and is waiting with my money at home. I'll find out tomorrow night.
For now, I need sleep for Machu Picchu. We leave at 4:00 in the morning, have a two-hour hike and the gates open at 6:00. I am excited. It is supposed to be such a magical, spiritual place.
I consider myself such a spiritual person. But I don't know. I can read people pretty easily, and get warm and cold feelings from the, but I cannot see an aura. I am pretty well connected to the natural environment, and to my own mind and body, but the true meaning of "spirituality" escapes me. I am considering this new journey, this new book in my life history, a spiritual one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb