Llanganuco Lodge - Charlie's playground


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Cordillera Blanca
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Charlie, who I met in Lima through Andy Fyfe (an old school friend of mine), has done something that so many bored and frustrated office workers think about but very rarely do. He jacked his job in at a top accounting firm, sold everything, and is building a fine hotel / hostel on one of the most beautiful pieces of land I have ever seen, circa 3600 above sea level in the Cordillera Blanca. The hotel is perfectly situated very nearby Huascaran which is the highest mountain in Peru at just under 6800 metres high. I can see that over time it will become a little piece of Britain up in the Andes!

Over the last two years Charlie has found his ideal plot of land and undergone neverending negotions with the local indigenous tribes and governmental divisions to purchase and develop this land. To do so he has had to become a cummunity member, so entrenching himself in the local society for good and bad. His perseverance has paid off. He has turned a barren piece of land with a million dollar view into a nicely terraced landscape surrounded by three buildings -a homely cummunal dining area, a building for the bedrooms, and a sports kit building. There are plans for numerous more villas to be built. Whilst construction is still underway Llanganuco Lodge is open for business. Dormitory beds are US$12 per night and the pukka King Room with king size bed with all the mod cons and lovely artwork is about US$65 per night.

There is so many activities to do while you are there; from mountain biking, rock climbing, clay pidgeon shooting (I shot 1 out of 1 clays!!), absailing, trekking etc. I believe there is even a croquet set!

On the first of my two days there I did the five hour trek up to Laguna Llanganuco (c4000m above sea level), a beautiful green lake nestled in a glacial valley just below the snow line. The scenery on the way was nothing short of spectacular.

On the second day Charlie and I set off at 10 am on a very steep 6.5 hour hike up to the top of neighbouring mountain where there are the remains of a very very old fortress, now called Charlie´s Fortress! The peak is about 4400m above sea level. Off the back of the summit is a perfectly solid vertical cliff face that Charlie suggested we absail down! As the guest I had to go first, and I was sh!tting myself as I let myself go over the cliff edge and bounce myself down the 60m to the ledge where we got off! It was an awesome, if adrenalin fuelled experience!

When we returned to the summit we were very fortunate to witness a massive condor circling above us for about 10 minutes. A rare site indeed.

I had an amazing time up at Llanganuco Lodge and if you are in the area, or fancy a trip to the wonderful wilderness of Peru but with western comforts, then I suggest you check it out. www.llanganucolodge.com or tel: +51 43 9672849

Next stop Quito, the capital of Ecuador. To get there I had an arduous journey. 1.5 hour taxi and bus ride to Huaraz, 7 hour night bus to Lima, across Lima to the airport at 7am and then a 2.5 hour flight to Quito.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb