Things I've learnt in Asunción - 29 Oct 2010


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My laptop is dying (ARRRRGGGGHHH) hence a late 'diet' version with no photos! Normal service may not be resumed for a while...

Sometimes there is a minimum when there isn't a minimum...I'm talking about immigration who said I hadn't deposited enough money in a holding account to get my residency. "But there is no minimum" I argued, "Yes but this amount is too small", "So how much should I put in?", "Well at least $3000" - so I suppose the minimum is $3000!

Asunción is the third most polluted city in Latin America...according to a study by the UN. I can't really believe that, I mean there are a lot of cars on the road (as people commute from Asunción's satellite towns) and the buses just spew black exhaust fumes; but equally there are only a million people a vast amount of green space outside of the centre and nearly all the factories are outside of Asunción. Something fishy going on there.

I'm scared of soldiers with guns...I mean I think I knew that already but it was confirmed this week. I was minding my own business then I looked up to see a soldier in a turret with a machine gun held vaguely in my direction. If he had been looking in my direction as well I would have probably soiled myself.

There is church on Thursday nights...as I found out last night - I thought we were going to eat ice cream by the lake...my girlfriend has clearly learnt to outwit me!

Random Question of the Week
Doctor before signing off on my medical certificate (more immigration)
"Are you an athlete?"
He was referring to my extraordinarily normal heart - but I think it will be the first and last time somebody mistakes me for an athlete!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb