Stapler Extraordinaire


Advertisement
Guyana's flag
South America » Guyana » Lethem
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was pretty much the same as yesterday. Mrs. Foo cooked breakfast and we headed to the hospital. Because it is a normal working day here I lost my desk by all the windows and got stuck in a little room with half a desk and few windows. It was a little stuffy, but bearable overall. I saw about 30 people. Some were just picking up the results from their last test and some were new patients, which is always good. One thing I had to do today that I didn’t do yesterday was fold and staple result sheets. It took a good chunk of my day to get those done even with some help from Dad, Bill, and Christine. They had to be separated into the different sub-regions of region 9, the region we are in. Many of the patients live in obscure little villages with mud huts and the sort of things you see on TV. Terrence will deliver their results to the health worker nearest them by plane. The patients near Lethem will pick theirs up at the hospital here and I will also have a set of them for those in the Annai area. The women who were more critical cases were brought in to see the doctors.

When the last patient was seen and Bill, Christine, and I had finished sorting all the results, we walked back to Mrs. Foo’s. On the way we stopped and I bought some Pineapple Jam. I was looking for Guava Jam but the store we were at didn’t have any. After dinner the doctors left to help with another C-section and Terrence went to hunt down some patients who did not show up today. Dad and I played Family Feud until 10 p.m. when we gave up and went to bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb