Installment #1 - Peru Adventure


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
October 20th 2006
Published: October 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Peace out QuitoPeace out QuitoPeace out Quito

Our Team of Rafters leaving the South American Explorers Club in Quito
Alright, So here’s the first installment of I don’t know how many bogs trying to get caught back up, mainly from my month long trip into Peru.


We left Quito today at around 3 pm on bus. Our next destination would be the border of Peru and Ecuador, a mere 17-hour bus ride away. Nothing too exciting happened on the bus, but I did get to see nearly 4 Jean Claude Van Damme films, that made my trip to South America right there. I think the last time I had a marathon Van Damme showing was roughly 15 years ago, sitting in my basement on Schaefer Street. After watching Jean Claude kick ass for 13 hours, I was ready to sleep and luckily for me our bus was fairly empty. I spread out across the aisle and caught a quick catnap before our bus came to a halt at the border town of Huaquillas (sp). We got to the border during the middle of the night; a bad time as no buses are going anymore. We went over the border into Peru to get our stamps, but told we needed Ecuador exit stamps first. We hopped into a 1970
Leaving EcuadorLeaving EcuadorLeaving Ecuador

The sun starting to set on the way out of Ecuador
ghetto cruiser and stopped at the Ecuadorian immigration office. We got our stamps and decided to kick it there till the morning when buses were flowing again. Along the way we met a guy from Peru who was coming home for the first time in 2 years, so he was all about boozing while we waited for the bus to come. After a few nice tall cold ones at about 5 in the morning, the sun began to rise so we footed it across into Peru to get our stamps (which most of you know, the cops claimed were fake a month later)

Once into Peru, we grabbed another bus from Tumbes to Chiclayo. This bus was about 13 hours I think and not nearly as nice as our previous bus. My lack of ability to sleep on moving objects continued so I was forced to look out the window and admire the Pacific Ocean for a few hours, followed by the Peruvian dessert for a few more, all the while getting my fix of grateful dead or moe. On the ipod. What would I do with out the pod is anyone’s guess.

We arrived in chiclayo in
Peruvian CoastPeruvian CoastPeruvian Coast

Beautiful and un-touched by Donald Trump
later in the afternoon and it’s a freakin madhouse man. People are fighting with each other to get the gringos on their bus or to sell the gringos jeans that would maybe fit one of my nephews. We had to kick it with these locos for a few hours til the next bus left, but it was actually alright. We played with all the little kids and bus was ready to board and we were off on an 18-hour bus ride to Tarapoto. The bus ride was totally lame. Every seat was occupied, mine didn’t recline, and dude next to me stunk horribly of BO. Worst 18 hour bus ride ever, and to top it off, they showed another movie with the typical Chinese bad guy in Van Damme movies, so I was hoping for my 5th Van Damme movie in under 30 hours….but Jean Claude never appeared. How Disappointing right?

18 hours later and I could breathe again, what a relief. Tarapoto was definitely the start of the jungle and the humidity was outrageous. We chilled in the city for a bit and gave our legs some exercise. Derek and Hugh opted to get some lunch to walk
Crazies in ChiclayoCrazies in ChiclayoCrazies in Chiclayo

Dude I don't want your pants that would fit an 8 yr old, however give me yo' cookies brotha!
around; I on the other found a struggling papaya tree to practice my new kung fu moves I learned on the bus. After busting down some moves, I grabbed a quick sandwich and a fresh juice for lunch. We then hailed down a taxi driver to drive us 4 hours to our next location

And I’ll leave ya’ll with that…. look for part two coming soon. Thanks for the patience everyone. Love everyone and hope you’re doing great. I forgot to mention I am living with a buddy in Quito so for the remainder of my stay I will have a 3 level, 2 br , 2 bath, front porch and back terrace to chill at, super stoked about that.
All right peace out, one love. Adios



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Entering the JungleEntering the Jungle
Entering the Jungle

starting to get into the Amazon Jungle
Sorry TreeSorry Tree
Sorry Tree

This was the tree I Kung Fu'd my lil' heart out too...it was a good tree, maybe better than me bc it's still standing
TarapotoTarapoto
Tarapoto

photo stop from our taxi ride


25th October 2006

Peruvian connection
Hey Bryan, I have enjoyed following your adventures. My friend Simonie's in-laws live in Peru so depending on how long you will be there or where in Peru you will be, let me know and if need be I can get you some local contacts! They are a great family and I am sure they would welcome you with open arms. Take care, and enjoy the adventure!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb