Termas de Papallacta.


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
November 5th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Papallacta

I was supposed to be heading off to the Galapagos today by my boat has decided to break down.
So now my trip has been postponed for a week.
I decided to head off to Quilotoa today, but the other Aussie I was going with is sick, so I decided to do a day trip to Papallacta (hopefully I will have better luck soon).
I had an interesting 2 hour bus ride to get there. I was sitting next to a local guy, and we had the funniest 2 hour conversation in very bad, broken Spanish/English. The dictionary got a solid work out, and if we had of had the conversation in English it would have all be over in about 10min. After 2 hours my head was about to explode from thinking so much!
After jumping off the bus, I had to walk up a dirt track to get to the Termas de Papallacta. I wasn’t entirely sure I was going in the right direction, but knew I had to walk down a dirt road for half an hour to get there.
Termas de Papallacta is Ecuador’s most scenic thermal baths and is perfect for a day’s relaxation. The complex has about a dozen hot pools, all with varying temperatures - and some were so bloody hot I couldn’t get into them. There was hardly anyone there, and I had most of the pools to myself. It was so relaxing I actually fell asleep in one of the pools! The warmth of the pools was a nice contrast to the rainy drizzly weather.
It was a great day trip.
Hopefully tomorrow I´ll be off to Quilotoa to do a bit of hiking.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb