Welcome to the jungle


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
August 21st 2005
Published: August 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have been at Yanayacu 6 days. In that time I have hiked trails made by empires; I have waded through roaring mountain streams; I have sneaked over mounds freshly laid by landslides; I have made new friends from Ecuador, Colorado, Guatemala, Montana, and Germany; I have seen wooly monkeys, a black chestnut eagle, a morpho butterfly, giant earthworms, and tiny tarantulas; and I have fallen in cow manure.

Not 24 hours off the plane and I was on an 8 hour hike. I was crashing down trails carved by the Incas and descending down a path next to an oil pipeline all while wondering if this was the best way to get used to the altitude. This hike was one of the greatest physical challenges I have ever faced. I never thought I wouldn't make it but there were a few times when I wondered whether I wanted to make it. Most of those times were in the finca when we were knee deep in cow manure that sucked your boots off. I may have to give up red meat.

I have learned so much. On the ride back from the airport plants for me to memorize were being thrown at me. I have had to memorize over 30 and tomorrow I have to teach them to a group of students.

Perhaps the most practical thing that I am learning is how to get around the jungle and down the mountain. I am learning that the best way to make sure not to slip on rocks or sink into the mud or loose my balance is to go fast --- really fast --- so fast your not in one place long enough to slip, fall, or sink.

Some people said that I would be crazy to pass up an opportunity like this; a lot of people thought it would be insane to spend six months here. From the minute I was offered this position I guess there was no turning back.

It is really cold here. I think I drink more Choco-listo hot chocolate than water (the tales of rice and beans and a glass of water for every meal were a little exagerated. There are plenty of powders to put in the water and there a lot of fresh veggies to put on the the rice and beans.) I wear my tobagon/beanie to bed and sleep under three blankets. I'm going to have to get used to the shivering.

There's plenty I'm going to have to get used to down here, reading by candle light, constantly wearing boots, speaking spanglish all the time. I'll make sure to update on all of it.

-Aaron

Advertisement



29th August 2005

Amazing
Hi Aaron!! Glad to hear that you arrived safely and seem to be surviving, nay thriving in your new environment. I think it is really funny how you try to cheat gravity everytime you descend from the mountain, I hope that gravity never catches on. Reading by candlelight sounds awesome, I am so glad that you are doing this. Tiny tarantulas, ewww. But of course I am not really fond of bugs and things. So do you have an address I can mail a postcard to or is it impossible? I am totally proud to call you my friend and I brag about you to others, my friend Aaron he is living on the eastern slope of the andes right now, yep. It is awesome. I leave on Saturday to fly to LA and then I leave on the 12th to go to NZ. I will keep you updated on all that, I am excited for you and I am so glad that you already have fabulously excellent stories. Bye for now, oh aaron of the jungle, much love Em P.s. I suggest a hot water bottle under the covers on those horrible cold nights.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb