Festival de la Manzana


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
April 6th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Principal, Ecuador Apple Festival
The party began at 9 am with music, a parade with floats from each barrio. At 10 am was the election of the Queen of the Apples. At 11 am, there were performances from dance groups from each neighborhood. The winner of the contest was a group who danced with chickens and guinea pigs it was very interesting and hilarious.
After the dance, we lunched at Mercy's "restaurant"I had Chicken, rice, menestra, and fries all for $1.25.
For some reason Mercy has a hard time understanding my accent, and After I had ordered the chicken, I changed my mind and wanted ceviche, but she gave me chicken and Ceviche. Jose ate the chicken for me.
At dinner, I asked for "One fish, No Rice" which is "Un Pescado, No Arroz", but she heard "Dame Dos" because she gave me Two! After lunch, there were soccer games with teams from each neighborhood. I talked to Mateo a little, and we went inside the exhibit displaying all the different types of apples that grow here in Principal which are 14 different varieties.
So, then I went home cleaned and took a 3 hr nap. I needed a break because
floatfloatfloat

we helped decorate it

float
we helped decorate itthe second half of the party is beginning at 10pm which will be music, drinking, and dancing until 3 a.m.
One more thing I must add, is that I am starting to DREAM in Spanish, and I think that is pretty cool.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

candidatescandidates
candidates

for reina de la manzana
ElenaElena
Elena

Offering Chicha, a drink of fermented corn
glorias kids glorias kids
glorias kids

on the back of the float
apple exhibitapple exhibit
apple exhibit

displaying the 14 varieties of apples that grow here in Principal
little girllittle girl
little girl

isnt she cute
mercy's restaurantmercy's restaurant
mercy's restaurant

she sells chicken, rice, ceviche, and salchipapas
papapapa
papa

dressed in his soccer teams uniform
miggymiggy
miggy

dressed to give his speech about apples on the stage


23rd June 2007

Love it
I love these pics of you and your srroundings they are great. I hope I get there before you and jose get back here together.... Love you bunches

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb