The Beauty School


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
March 4th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I crocheted at Carmen's while she weaved my hat. It is finished! and looks great. I crocheted all day on the bag for my mom until I ran out of yarn. I went to the store to buy more but they do not have my color. SO, Jose's mom undid the bag to start over smaller. This is the third time restarting!
Today is another rainy day. It rained all night and continues until now. I'm at Joses mom's waiting for my mom to call. I hope she calls before 1:30 because I have a class at 2. I am joining a beauty school that teaches haircutting, makeup, manicures and pedicures. The class is free, you just have to buy the materials. At the end you get a certificate. I am excited.
Joses mom and I made empanadas. In a bowl, we mixed egg, sugar, droya (?), flour and hot salt water into a dough. Punching and kneading until it was strong. Then we rolled the dough into balls and put them on plates.
Then we shaped the dough into half moon shapes, filled them with cheese, and pressed them closed and fried them.
At the beauty class. At first I was confused because there was a man there talking about politics and the constitution of Ecuador. But it turns out he was just offering classes in politics on Saturdays. Then we went into the "salon" There were about 50 women and one man. It is going to cost $30 for the supplies. First we are learning manicures and pedicures. It will take 1 month. Later we'll learn other things, haircutting, perms, dyeing, styling, waxing, and makeup.
The class is a total of 8 months. And we will receive a certificate in each topic. So, it is okay if I miss a month or two when I return to the U.S.
First, we elected the officers. Someone nominated me and I got the second highest number of votes, so became Vice President of the beauty school. I had to stand and give a speech. I said thank you for the office. I will work hard and do whatever you need me to do. Everyone applauded. I think I turned as red as ketchup. Today no one had supplies so we watched the teacher give a manicure to a woman who guessed the number the teacher was thinking of. She looked very happy and a smile makes anyone beautiful.
After class, I went and hung out at the Cancha watching the games. Ate some fries. It's very cold today and last night two of the guinea pigs died. Including my favorite one 😞


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb