Carnaval day 3


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
February 19th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Principal, EC

NO PHOTOS DURING CARNAVAL 😊
Yesterday I forgot to mention that there was a house fire. A gas tank (for cooking), exploded in someone's kitchen. No one was hurt, but 3 guinea pigs and some chickens died. Since there is no fire department here, all the men, including Jose, ran up with buckets of water to help. The fire was soon put out and everyone went back to what they were doing.
Today, Jose and I woke up and started playing Carnaval. I filled a bucket with water balloons and hit Jose, Miggy, Kevin, Jimmy, and Julisa. Jose had a water gun and a 3 liter Sprite bottle full of water, which he poured over my head. It was so cold! After all that we had lunch which was a delicious soup of peas, beef, bananas, yucca, and avocado. After lunch, I was freezing, so I didn't want to play Carnaval anymore. Guys are riding around in the back of pick up trucks with balloons and buckets to throw on people. Jose went to the Cancha to play soccer. I decided to stay in the house and do laundry rather than get wet. It took about 2 hours then I went outside to hang the clothes and one guy walking down the street said to me, "Hey, how's it going?" in English. I was a little scared because I thought I was hearing things so I just said, "hi", then he said "hi" back. I told Jose and he said, "Oh that guy used to live in New York for a while".
Then I took a shower. Then I went to our house to clean. TRying to pass the time. After dark the kids stop throwing water. They have respect that it gets cold at night, so they start throwing corn starch and Carioca instead. I hear people outside, screaming and laughing, and the water splashing.
I'm going to take a nap because there is another party tonight and I don't want to be a party pooper again 😊.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb