Host family welcoming


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
January 11th 2020
Published: January 11th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was the first day here in Quito, Ecuador after a long day of traveling the previous day. Upon meeting our host mama and papa, they were very welcoming. Our host mama, Carla greets myself and Ally (my housemate) with a hug and a "kiss" on the cheek anytime she sees us. This differs from what I am used to, in the sense that my family will hug and greet one another when we see each other, but if we see each other later that day it is not as likely that we would hug again. In the morning, Ally and I ate breakfast with our host papa, Holger, that was served by a housemaid, while Carla was at a dance class. Once Carla returned, she hugged Ally and myself, and wanted to show us the rooftop terrace of the apartment building, so she took us up there to play ping pong and hangout. Carla then told us when to come back to the apartment for lunch. This dynamic differs because I am used to making my own food in my own apartment, however here, I am told when the meal will be, and I am served. After lunch, our papa walked Ally and I to our school in order for us to get to know the way. He was pointing out landmarks to use as reference because he wanted us to have and idea of where we were at if we were ever unsure. This reminded me a lot of my own father, because he is very directionally sound and tends to try to inform me of those type of things. After we were done at the school our host mama picked was there to walk back with us. Not too far from the school is the mall, so she wanted to stop there to show us around. Carla had met up with some of her friends and one of her friends had other students with them. She was so excited to introduce us to her friends and they were very welcoming to us. They greeted us with a hug and a "kiss" on the cheek as our own host mama would. We walked back to our houses with the other students and their host mama, because relive nearby one another. I took notice that my host mama and their host mama were linked arms most of the time when we walked back together. This is not as commonly see in the U.S., however I would not say that is is never seen.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb