Rafting on Championship Waters


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
November 8th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The CrewThe CrewThe Crew

back again w/ the amazon race crew + Kali
Rafting the Rio Quijos:
We left Quito on Thursday morning for the city of Chaco, Ecuador, a small rafting town with incredible views of the Andean mountain range while nestled in the heart of the Ecuadorian cloud forest. The three hour car ride went smoothly and we got to our first loading point at around 11:00 am. After all the gear was unloaded and the raft was blown up, the trip safety meeting was held. Rio Quijos was the site for the 2005 world championships of rafting, so, all precautions were necessary before we embarked down the mighty river.
We hit the first rapid with lots of force and cool river splashes came flying at us from all directions, no problem passing the first rapid. Dani, the river guide, Derek, Hugo, Kali and I were yelling and laughing as we continually passed class 3 rapids surrounded by the most amazing scenery. The Rio Quijos carves through gigantic valleys and gorges covered with jungle vegetation, this is true primary rainforest area. The tones of green, highlighted by the shining sun, were straight out of National Geographic.
“Here comes the Toro” shouts Dani with a giant smile on his face and
campcampcamp

Resting at the camp
hedonistic eyes bulging from his head. We guide the boat to the shore so we can scout the class 5 rapid and choose the appropriate path winding through the enormous rapid. Navigation of this rapid is crucial. One small mistake and our boat is stuck in a hole with boulders the size of outhouses scattered in every direction. We discuss our route and give a big group high five for motivation. Back in the boat, our adrenaline is pumping as we begin our small paddle upstream before we make the 180 degree turn into the Toro. All steam ahead, shouting and screaming, we enter the Toro. We make a quick right pass and sink front first into a massive hole, it’s like heading over the edge of a waterfall. Our boat is being ravaged and we lose control. “A la izquierda, fuerte, fuerte!” shouts Dani as we paddle our hearts out on the left hand side, perfectly executed. We passed right through the path we need, but the rapid was still not done, we had another hole on the right and another boulder to left, dive the hole and pray we don’t get stuck. BAM we hit the hole head
CanyonCanyonCanyon

slowly admiring the canyon
on, again our boat is stuck for a second tip down in the hole before the rushing waters spin us sideways. We’re pinned and can’t get out, I’m stuck on the lower half of the tube and the boat begins to tip over my head. I immediately get sucked out of the boat by the ferocious water and my world turns pitch black. “Calm down, relax. Figure out where you are, feel the boat and use it as a guide” I tell myself. I put my hands up and feel the boat overhead, I pick a side to come out on and break through the waters edge gasping for air. The rapids over, we’re in calm water once again. The boat never tipped but was sitting on one tube, which made me get sucked in. The Toro had the best of me this round, but I would be determined to get revenge next time.
About four hours later and many more bad ass rapids, we pulled up to the camping site for the night and set up shop. As the sun started to set, our hunger began to rise. Grilled chicken over an open flame was the only cure to our hunger. Some nice cold beers were to follow while sitting around the campfire and sharing stories. The rushing water seemed to be more interesting than we were after a while and conversation halted to the peaceful sounds of nature. The full moon and millions of stars, accompanied by the warm fire and soft sand sent me into dreamland for the rest of night, tomorrow we must pass the Toro.
I’m glad to say day two of rafting went amazing. All the rapids were conquered, we passed through the Toro unharmed and I had one of the best weekends I’ve had so far in Ecuador.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

small rapidssmall rapids
small rapids

coming through one of many class 3 rapids, unfortunately we don't have any photos of the toro
Hey MomHey Mom
Hey Mom

Should I get my haircut mom? haha. I had to put this one on here for you


9th November 2006

Oh my !!!
Wow - what can I say, but, Wow ! Is this what you meant when you said your beard was long in Spain?
13th November 2006

Don't cut that hair!!!!
Ivy I love the pic with the white coat. I think you kind of look like teenwolf.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb