The Old Hammock and The Sea


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Canoa
September 21st 2007
Published: September 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey!
So I´ve now been in Canoa for almost three weeks. Spanish classes are going well. I have two instructors, a father and son. The son runs the place with his family. They have a 5 yr old daughter that´s pretty cute and who will speak with me (she´s a lot better than I am=). The father (who´s about 70) keeps talking about me getting married (no not to him)... it´s quite funny, but I´ve already switched my ring to the other hand and I´m about to ask for photos of kids that I can say are mine.

My days are pretty nice. I spend 4 hours in class, I go running almost every other day along the beach, and I spend a lot of time sitting in either the hammock on my balcony, or in the one by the beach. I take the time in the hammock to either read or think. I believe I´ve read more in the past three weeks than in the past three years, and I haven't taken time to think in a very long time... kind of weird. But I´m liking the life of leisure...

I´m in bed by 9 most nights, and I get about 9-10 hours of sleep a night, plus a possible siesta during the day! I tell you life is good. I´ve only really made it out for one night in the happening town of Canoa. There are two bars people go to and they are across the street from one another. So basically I spent the evening drinking Pilsner in the middle of the road. Moving only when the two police officers of Canoa needed to drive by. Hopefully I´ll make it out again, but I´m making no promises... there are naps to be taken=)

I did get pretty sick my first weekend here. Don´t know what it was that I ate and I really hope I don´t eat it again. It was awful, and thank god for prescriptions! And that was a double bummer also because I missed a surfing lesson. But no need to worry I did get one in and I have been trying my hardest to ´catch a wave´. So far I´ve got a couple but mostly I´ve found various muscles that I haven´t been using recently, and received a couple of very bruised knees. But it´s really fun!

And an interesting fact: There are elections next Sunday here in Ecuador, and for the two days before it the Ecuadorians are not allowed to drink. That means bars are shut, and no alcohol is sold. This doesn´t mean you can´t really drink in your home and I think some of the hostel bars are still open (so I should be fine=)



Observations
1) They have these vicious looking shells here- purple with spikes. It makes walking on the beach a dangerous activity=)
2) I might just be made for a life of leisure.
3) Montezuma´s Revenge.... what did I ever do to Montezuma??
4) I forgot just how good I am a sleeping.
5) But I´m not that good at surfing.
6) Elections seem pretty complicated here. Of course it´s not like they´re easy everywhere else.

Until Later mis amigos!
Liz


Advertisement



26th September 2007

Yay liz!
Liz drinking in the streets???? Who would have guessed? Enjoy getting past the Montezuma. He hates you because you are white. It's even in your name. Enjoy Lizzy Lizard. You're making me jealous!!!
26th September 2007

lazy lizarda
Just make sure that you're not the drunk American running around the night before election showing everyone pictures of your "kids"!
26th September 2007

pictures of the hammock? and palm trees?
I'd like to see a picture of you in your hammock with the swaying palm trees(if there are any) and the beautiful ocean and the handsome surfer instructor..go ahead make my day!! If you can't get a picture of all that then just one of you "thinking" in your hammock will be good enough! Hope the surf and the South American Pilsner are good. Will you be writing your blog in Spanish soon?? I don't see a translator option on this blog site, yet. Evan says he liked the sly woman option, Lagarta. I like trippin lizzard. Adios Amigia! Hasta luega!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb