Forgotten Road Trail and Road to Quinara


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Vilcabamba
December 7th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The forgotten road trail, is a beautiful, easy eight hour hike from the hostal over the ridge to the west to the village of Tumianumi, and then on a path which once was a road, but hasn’t been used for many years. I went on that trip by myself and did not meet any tourists during the whole eight hours. However, I did chat with villagers and enjoyed the beautiful landscape. You see mainly the backside of the Mandango range, but it’s very different from the other side.

Another day I went on bicycle on the new road all around to Tumianuma and Quinara, also very pretty, but rather tough on the old bike. In Quinara I hoped to catch some public transport up the steep hill back to Vilcabamba. However, there was no transport, not even a taxi. So I cycled further on to the main road, but then it got dark. There were only a couple of houses at the junction, and people told me the 7 o’clock bus should come soon. So I wait and wait, but the bus doesn’t come. Then I tried to call the hostal from my cell phone to ask them to send a taxi. There was no connection, though. Some kids tell me the only cell phone connection is on top of one of the houses, and I should ask there. So I knock and tell them that I need to make a phone call. They are a bit suspicious at first, but then take me up to the attic. I see a cell phone standing there on a balk. They tell me it’s the only place where there is a connection. So I try to dial the number, but they tell me I have to put my phone right next to the other. I do it and dial. No connection. They tell me to wait a few moments. I try again and again. It does not work. Then the lady asks me what provider I use. I say Movistar. She says Movistar does not work here, only Porta. She finally allows me to use her cell phone. I have to speak with the phone right by the balk, but finally I get through to Izhcayluma and they send the taxi.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1983s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb