Peru - Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
September 28th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Huacachina turned out to be a true highlight of my travels so far. I'd never have thought riding in a dune buggy and sandboarding would tickle my whisker as much as it did, in fact it was so much fun that I had to stay another day and go again, just like theme park rollercoasters. Well didn't I learn a lesson in repeat experiences. I took to sandboarding like a llama takes to scuba-diving but that didn't stop me heading full pelt down a 45 degree dune, coming off (of course) and pretty much wrecking my shoulder. Not a good bit for a backpacker to wreck. You'd think I'd have learnt that anything that involves strapping oneself to a board and moving at speed downhill is not my thing.

In everyone's favourite city, Lima, I got a rather cloudy looking x-ray which was apparently all clear so the next day with my backpack dangling off one shoulder I was on a flight to the north, Piura, conveniently skipping all the bits in between (sorry north Peru). Piura was so appealing that the next day I was on a bus across the border to Ecuador (ooo.. scary!) and Loja. The border
Buggy!Buggy!Buggy!

Huacachina
crossing was disappointingly easy; no militia hijackings, bag searches or soldiers with cigars wearing aviator sunglasses. Maybe I should go to Colombia.

Loja too was truly fascinating so the next day I took a bus to an old hippy haunt and another dot on the gringo trail called Vilcabamba. Yes. Took me a while to work out what the appeal was, and after a couple of nights, actually I don't think I did work it out. In fact I didn't even take a photo. So again I was off on yet another packed bus to what is a really lovely city, Cuenca. Charming, relaxed, affluent, just like me. Oh ah ha.

In Cuenca I've decided to stay put for a while, enrol in some one-to-one Spanish classes, and see how my shoulder heals. Assured by quality Peruvian diagnosis, I'm confident there are no fractures, and that the lingering stiffness and soreness is all soft-tissue damage. Then again its only been two weeks, so I should be patient. Or maybe a patient. No, not thinking about it. I may get another opinion next week... or just go to THE GALAPAGOS!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Dune of deathDune of death
Dune of death

Where I later came to grief. You can see specks (people) at the top.
Cajas national parkCajas national park
Cajas national park

and a rare moment of sunshine
VegetationVegetation
Vegetation

at Cajas
What happens if you get lostWhat happens if you get lost
What happens if you get lost

You become a llama and disintegrate


18th October 2006

i'm happy
Hiya andrew, i found kate. Shes back in Oz and has a new job. I do too! I'm very happy. No more stats! The excitement I get everytime I think that is just not wearing off :). I've almost finished the semester. 1 project and 1 exam and then its Summer FUN! And thanks to global warming, summer came early to melbourne this year. Its extremely dry and dusty though. Big drought down under eh? Maybe now they'll stop growing rice. So where are you? Its been a while inbetween blogs. Are you in the galapagos? I hope so. Wow I always wanted to go there. Look out for two headed turtles. I've always thought if you wanted a two headed turtle. Galapogos is the place to go. ;)
19th October 2006

proximo blog
Proximo blog...Andale!
21st October 2006

T S ELIOT
Hola Andrew! I won't attempt my distressed Spanish by trying to translate this pearl of wisdom in T S Eliot's "Little Gidding"- he writes:- We shall not cease from exploration And the end of all our exploring Will be to arrive where we started And know the place for the first time.. So, keep on exploring - pero, proximo blog! Andale!

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb