From Montañita to Las Montanas


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
December 19th 2011
Published: December 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is what i would look like...This is what i would look like...This is what i would look like...

as a traditional Ecuadorian woman.
Ok. Where to begin.

I left Canoa, and beelined it to Montanita, a small surf town to the south. Upon arriving in Montanita, I was a bit shocked. Canoa, the place I had just been, was laid back, quiet, and in a word, TRANQUILO. I went from this environment to what I could only describe as ¨the Aspen of Ecuador.¨ Techno music blared from over-priced restaurants, and I was unfortunate enough to score a hostel downtown, immediately next to the Gym, which blared such classic Ecuadorian groups as Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Rage Against the Machine. The Rasta vibe was highly present with dreadlocks worn like trophies, and the smell of marijuana in the air. Everyone had something to sell. Dresses. Necklaces. Hammocks. You name it.

Was I still in Ecuador? I thought not. This was an expensive vacation town where Ecuadorians and Gringos came to party and surf. I am talking about a little place called ASPEN.

I did spend a week in this place, however. The surfing was great. I met a Belgian guy who was a great surfer, and who taught me how to surf better. I also had a bonfire on the beach with
The view from my first hostal in MontanitaThe view from my first hostal in MontanitaThe view from my first hostal in Montanita

Yeah, right next to the "I heart Montanita" store and the Gym.
6 random strangers one night. It was wonderful. One of these guys (named David) is from Mankato, Minnesota, where I am thinking of doing my Master´s, and he said I could stay with him. Good guy!

After a week of being held hostage by noise, i ventured east, to Ecuador´s third largest city: Cuena. This place is amazing. Old buildings and churches are everywhere. The streets are cobbled, and the mountain people vibe is very present. In addition to this, Cuenca has been declared a World Heritage site by Unesco. It is absolutely beautiful. I have been taking spanish lessons for the last week, and have met some more great folks along the way. I even got asked on a date by an Ecuadorian girl in a coffeeshop. This experience was great, but it made me realize that communication is very very important. Being able to speak predominantly in the present tense and having a limited vocabulary made the date rough. In retrospect, I said some funny things, which may or may not include the following:

¨Do you like ice cream?¨I asked. ¨You like to park go to?¨ I inquired furiously. ¨How long live you in this city?¨I probed. ¨The weather is better than other days I have seen in the world.¨I stated confidently.

And so on.

This last weekend, i went with an Irish girl named Anya to Parque Nacional Cajas. This is a large national park 2 hours from Cuenca. It was very rainy, but absolutely amazing. The park contains some 300 lakes and feels like an environment that Dr. Seuss would have created if he had gotten together with God during the creation of the earth. Big poofy, bulbous plants abound as well as tufts of squishy, bright grass. We were there for two days, but it felt like much longer. The terrain was steep, but absolutely magical.

That´s about it for now. I will be in Cuenca for a few more days, taking some more spanish lessons, and then am going to head north to Banos for Christmas, where i will meet my good friend Kristen. Thanks again for the kind words. I have less than a month left on this trip, but the well-wishing and kind emails mean a lot when you´re far away from home. Or anyone who even speaks English for that matter.

Be well!!!
Sunset at the beachSunset at the beachSunset at the beach

Montañita sunsets are great!

Matt


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

From my friend´s hostal!
A woman in CuencaA woman in Cuenca
A woman in Cuenca

Putting up shop for the day.
Making dinner in Parque Nacional CajasMaking dinner in Parque Nacional Cajas
Making dinner in Parque Nacional Cajas

Anya makes dinner on our trek!!
SunsetSunset
Sunset

In Parque Nacional Cajas!!
AnyaAnya
Anya

Hiking through the park!
Cajas!!Cajas!!
Cajas!!

Yet another lake. Not bad.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb