The making of my Panama Hat


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
November 21st 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Devils Nose TrainDevils Nose TrainDevils Nose Train

The derailment
Next up on my agenda was the ‘Devils Nose’ train ride to from Riobamba to Alausi and then a five hour bus ride to Cuenca. Unfortunately the train wasn’t running from Alausi to Sibambe (the devils nose bit) due to the debris on the track that was caused by the earthquake a couple of weeks ago. But none the less it was still a spectacular journey through the mountain side. And we did have a little adventure when the train derailed! Apparently it happens quite often, and it only took the guys about 20min to get the train back in action.
I meet a lovely French family on the train, and so I spent the next couple of days in Cuenca with them.
Cuenca is a charming colonial town located in the Southern highlands, and it is known as the jewel of the South. Its narrow cobblestone streets and whitewashed red-tiled buildings, its handsome plazas and domed churches, and its settings above the grassy banks of the Rio Tomebamba, all create a city that’s supremely impressive.
First up we decide to visit the impressive Parque Calderon (the main plaza) which is dominated by the handsome ‘New Cathedral’ (built in 1885). On the other side of the plaza is the beautiful ‘Old Cathedral’ (construction began in 1557). The Cathedral is in the process of being restored, and we were lucky enough to get a tour of the church. It is no longer used as a church, but now as a special place to hold concerts. Some of the art work was absolutely stunning. The Latin Americans do like there horror art, and there was this one pretty gruesome sculpture of Jesus and his disciples. Lots of blood and guts…..ewww
Now something that most people don’t realise is that that for well over a century, Ecuador has endured the world mistakenly crediting another country for its most famous export - the Panama Hat. The Panama Hat is actually called a ‘somberro de toquilla’ or a ‘Montecristi’ named after the most famous hat making town and also the plant that the straw comes from.
We decided to visit a Panama Hat museum to see how these famous hats are made. Depending on the fineness of the hat, it can take any were between a week to a month to make the hat. Once the hat has been made, it only takes about 30min to mould the hat and sew all the bits and pieces on. After trying on all sorts of hats, I could resist the urge to buy one. Fortunately for me they didn’t have the hat I wanted in my size, so I got one specially made for me. I got to watch the whole process, from the first moulding to the cutting, second, third and fourth moulding and then the sewing. So it’s pretty cool, to say that my hat was specially made just for me!!
Well, that was pretty much it for Cuenca, it was a quick whirl wind tour. Next stop Mancora - if I get get across the boarder in one piece.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My HatMy Hat
My Hat

The cutting
My HatMy Hat
My Hat

The Pressing
My HatMy Hat
My Hat

The sewing


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb