And its all coming to an end.....


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

.....Im sat here, in the house I've been living in for 4 months, but the time has come to leave. I'm so sad! It feels like we only arrived here weeks ago, only we're going already. Cuenca is a fantastic place, and I've met some bloody amazing people here, not surprising, everyone is just so friendly, (apart from idiot man, the rudest man in the whole of ecuador, who works in the immigration office, snarling at people and not looking at documents, then trying to come on to you afterwards.) Anyway, people have already left, like Kat and Louisa headed to Peru a few days ago, so as you can imagine the past few days have been fun filled ecuadorian house party times woop, but I dont want it to end! In about 10 minutes (so this will have to be fast!) Im going to soph's house to meet her and all our mates from here, who are coming to give us a send off at the bus station, ecudorian stylee, hehe, then we'll be off on our way to Colombia. Meh! Im excited, but triste, all at the same time.
So I thought Id do a little summary of Ecuador and what Im gonna miss, and what Ive missed from home, and all that malarky.
Well first of all, of course I've missed all you wonderful people most. But apart from that. My cats. Cats dont seem to exist much here, just big rabid angry dogs, errrg, dont like dogs anyway, and they are just rambling along the streets as they please, meh! Cats are so much better. Food. We haven't seen a piece of cheddar for nearly 5 months, the cheese here is ermm...just not cheese, I have grown to like it though. Also they dont really do chocolate properly. Salmon mmmmmm. Humous. Vegetables and salad! Hah, you knew Id say that, but seriously, you dont get vegetables, you just get a big fat porcion of rice to make up for it, unfortunately due to the stodge we've all put weight on. : ( hehe. Hot showers....I get hot water for 4 minutes, then its bloody freezing ( yus, I timed it, I have to get the shampoo and conditioner out of my hair before the 4 minutes is up, its like crystal maze...) Gigs.....rodz of steel better still be rocking by the time I get back....!
I think the list of things Im gonna miss is a bit longer.....once again, obviously the people. The fact that you can go on a bus for a couple of hours and find beach, or mountains, or sierra, or rainforest, what more could you want! Walking down the street and seeing 14 goats, 2 chickens, a hundred dogs, whilst gazing in wonder and nearly walking into the cow that is crossing the pavement in front of you. Being in the coach station and not seeing someone dragging a crate full of live animals along (I wont really miss that, just it'll be strange when it doesnt happen.) Another thing that'll be strange not happening is hoards of people running up to you when you enter a coach station, trying to persuade you to get on their bus, even if its not going where you want....Prices....1.25 for a bottle of rum! Come on!
Que mas....Zuhmir and canalazo....people standing on the streets outside shops just drinking, starting form about 1130, having mixed their rum and coke in a plastic bag....tricky, but possible. And compleetly normal it seems. Avocado....amazing here! As is the pineapple....the yogurt, fruit and granola fruit salads for breakfast, the best brekkie in the world! Cheap almuerzos. Local buses pumping out salsa. Its gonna be so quiet! SALSA! of course. My little girls at the orphanage, even though they are such little rascals sometimes, they are so sweet and lovely...sometimes you just cant imagine how ytou would cope being in their situation, but they do it so well. My school bus of course...(not!)
I could write about other things I miss and things Im gonna miss , but I dont have time. I have to go and say a final farewell to some on the great people that Ive spent most of the past four months with. So wierd. Its making me mis you all from home even more too, because Im being reminded of people not being near me anymore.....
.....However, Im sure this will pass, Im going to Colombia, to sit on some Caribbean beaches, and be dragged through the rainforest on a motorbike and salsa in Cali, the salsa city of the world. So things are pretty amazing really! I promise I will do my best to keep you all up to date with my travels, and this will actually turn into a travel blog, rather than a being in one place blog!
Muchas kisses for you all, give me luck! And if I dont update, (I will) I will see you all so soon! XXXX

Advertisement



12th July 2007

It all sounds absolutely fantastic sophie! Im sorry its comming to an end, but we shall be very glad to have you back. See you soon chicka. take care! mwahhhh

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb