never again......?


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
July 13th 2005
Published: July 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yo yo, tis Rich.

Jen and I decided to celebrate the theft of our day sack (along with my MP3 player, damnit) in style. It was clear after Cuenca got through the quarter final on agregate (see entry GOOOOAAL) that we would have to track down the semi final against the frankly much better Liga Quito, and watch the plucky Cuencan team get the sound thrashing that was coming to them. Fortunately, we didnt have far to go, it was in Cuenca again. Along with our school buddies Addie and Mora, we decided to go in style this time, and get hammered. Half a bottle of rum each later, washed down with some rum from bars along the way, we finally made it to the stadium. What can I say? Brilliant, that´s what. Fuelled heavily with booze we elected to join the die-hards on the fence, and scaled to our precarious perch twenty feet above the packed stadium floor and led some cheers. Having bought shirts abd flags, we remained on our perch and bellowed at people for a good half hour, and kept the crowd mildly entertained, Addie in particular became a minor celebrity for a time by showing off a tattoo on his inner thigh, which was of course completely invisible from that distance, and watching his feeble and largely unsucessful attempts to hide his shame kept me laughing. How the crowd cheered as Jen and I kissed and nearly fell off, how they laughed when I got stuck on the barbed wire, and how they cheered some more when someone hurled a bottle at my head with surprising accuracy. Then they started throwing toilet paper rolls and firing fire works at us, and we figured it was time to get down, but not without a last flourish of the flag, which I generously gave to a child, but as the act involved throwing it at him from twenty feet up, I doubt he was that pleased really.

All in all, the game was awesome and, contrary to expectation, Cuenca SLAUGHTERED Quito. It was only a 2:1 victory, but the game was utterly dominated by the under-dogs. The whole experience was only slightly marred by the appalling hang-over I am now enduring. I´ve spent a glorious day of stomach churning, head pounding, nausea wave enducing horrendousness, and I missed class. Oops. poor show for the Brit, our American friends made it in. Like I say, never again..........until next time

Advertisement



15th July 2005

nice to see you're flying the flag for excellent behaviour, easy now kids. oh, stop losing everything you muppets.x
22nd July 2005

You lucky Bastards!!!!
Hey you 2! Just managed to get your link off Ryan and I must say, you have seriously entertained me all morning at work! I can definitely say you are NOT missing anything back here in shitty England, everyone is still doing the same things as always! Bor-ing!!! I'm glad you're having a good time, everyone who reads this is seething with jealousy, but we can't help but read! Can't wait to see you when you get back, got lots to ask you! Have fun, Suzie xXx P.S. Where was that shopping centre again....? x

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb