A break from rice


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North
November 10th 2008
Published: November 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up pretty sick this morning, sore throat and fever. I decided to still go to work. It's not like I'm going to make the kids sick, I'm actually pretty sure I it got from one of them caughing at me.
One of the guys I traveled with was actually there, back from the coast. It made the morning go by faster as we had to catch up on our past week. So, it was 3 of us volunteers in class today. We ketp looking at each other, horrified at what's going on. Like the teacher texting from his cellphone, or a staff member bringing him ice-cream in the middle of the math lesson. I'm trying to tell myself that it's all cultural differences and that they must be exhausted by their work and pretty resigned, but I can't help to get angry. There is a lot going on that I just can't agree with. I see kids with (extremely) runny noses or shoes put on backwards or that kind of shit all day and nobody seems to care but the volunteers. Maybe that's why we are there for, I don't know.

Anyways, all in all I had a pretty good morning and since I was sick, I decided to treat myself to a non-ecuadorian, which also means on average 5 times more expensive, lunch. SPAGETTI WITH MEAT SAUCE, Yayyyy. It was the worst spagetti ever but it was so delicious just because it was not rice. I felt very guilty spending 10 bucks on lunch when I can have meat and rice for 1.5 dollars. But hey, I deserved it. I also bought a book cause I ran out and 3 movies. The book was 11 dollars and 3 movies for 4.5 dollars. Well, I guess I understand why they watch more TV than they read in Ecuador. Another great point for the education.
I was thinking today, the guy from the store accross the street is gonna cry when I leave. He has probably doubled his income since I got here. As I get out of the house every morning I buy : a bottle a water, a coke, 2 tangos (my new favorite cookies) and cigarettes when I'm out. He says like 10 times, what else, what else, nothing else, you sure? And at night : another coke a fiora fresa (my new second favorite soda) and mints (cant find any I like yet).

No rain for 3 days and it's actually warmer. Internet working again on my laptop. I'm starting to wonder if I actually have the power to control the universe through a more positive attitude and creating my day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.9kb