Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
May 19th 2016
Published: May 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Not the most imaginative title is it? I'll try harder next time.

Well , I got here yesterday after 24 hours travelling. Totally done in. The first thing I hear on the way to the Hotel is that another earthquake has struck. I arrive in town and the streets are full with people standing nervously in groups. Although the epicentre was some way from Quito , the tremors were felt here. Not the news I wanted to hear...

I later found out that this one registered 6.8 and luckily only one casualty. I say later, as nothing was keeping me from bed. I hit the pillow at 3pm local time and slept pretty well through to 6am.. After pigging out on the breakfast buffet , it was time to act like a tourist.

First stop: Historic District. A lovely place to stroll in the sunshine, restored colonial architecture and plazas where the plants are meticulously tended and small hedges manicured to perfection. Vendors and shoe shine boys ply their trade . It's lively and very picturesque.

A taxi takes me to the cable car which zips me up to the top of Cruz Loma for stunning views of the city. 13287 feet is high enough for me. I've got a little altitude sickness , coming from Brum at sewer level to one of the highest Capital cities in the world. Why else would I be out of breath climbing a few stairs? I refuse to believe I'm that unfit. No , definitely altitude sickness. I got chatting to a nice Aussie couple who were dreading going back to their 24hour party Hostel. I'm so glad the days of dorms are behind me.

Next up , Jardin Botanico . A pleasant Botanical Garden in one of the bigger parks. It's not just people it attracts; I saw a few hummingbirds darting from flower to flower. With a bit of luck this is just the first taste of the wildlife I'll encounter, as tomorrow I head for the Amazon jungle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb