First Days in Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 29th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Quito, Ecuador
Hola everybody!! This is going to be a short entry because I´m sitting here in an internet cafe in the middle of Quito, Ecuador and it´s a whopping 80 cents an hour to be here. A LITTLE pricey...haha. It has been AMAZING so far. My first plane ride went very well and I´m pretty much an expert now 😉 We have only been here a couple of days, but we have already met the "Vicepresidente" of Ecuador and rode a cable car to some mountain peaks within the city. My hotel roommates for this week are Julie, Hannah and Kumari and we get along really well. Besides the fact that we run out of hot water in the shower on a daily basis, it´s a great hotel. We even have a loft with two of the beds up there and windows overlooking the city. I have never seen anything so beautiful as a lit up Quito on our flight in at 12 am the other night. It was amazing! The people have been very friendly so far...sometimes a little TOO friendly when it comes to the muchachos 😉 I still don´t really believe that we are here! What makes Quito even more beautiful is the mountains surrounding the city and the gorgeous buildings and plazas throughout the city. Using Spanish so frequently has been a little challenging, but it gets easier all the time. We had an excellent dinner last night at a local restaraunt called Pim´s. Hopefully I´ll be able to add pictures soon so you all can see how gorgeous it is here. I wish you all could be here and I miss you all very much!!! I´ll keep you updated when I can!!!



Advertisement



29th August 2006

I know you miss us. We miss you. Great hearing from you. You know, I am living through you. Kind of an out of body experience. Have a great time for me. Blessings, Gail
30th August 2006

Hey.
Hey Kiley. Glad everything's gone smoothly so far. And really, the only reason you're running out of hot water is because there are 4 girls in a room......you should've expected that ;) But as you know, my schedule leaves me little play time, but I'll definitely be following your stories and commenting from time to time. I wish you the best down south, and we all miss you here in The States.
30th August 2006

You Ecuadorian you
You did it! And somehow I never managed to get into that suitcase of yours... damn damn damn! All I can say is that when you come back, I want some wild and crazy stories. Think as in... your wildest most crazy dreams kind of stories. With muchachos perhaps? They could certainly be added into the mix! I love you girl, sounds just incredible, and I am so glad you are able to take this life-changing trip! Missing you already! Hugs!
30th August 2006

Nice to hear from you so soon
Sounds like you're having a blast. Watch out for the muchachos!! Be safe, careful and remember to pinch yourself every now and then so you fully realize what an awesome experience this is for you. I look forward to hearing every single thing you have to share about LA. Love, MOM
30th August 2006

Hi!
Sounds like you're having the time of your life! Wow...I'm jealous...
30th August 2006

love you!
Hi dolly! So glad to hear that you're well...and that the flight went well also. You are thought of often...and missed. Keep up the travel blogs! LOVE THAT!! LOVE YOU TOO!
30th August 2006

I want pictures
HEY! Glad to hear you guys are there and having a great time already. Get pictures up ASAP! I want to see you dancing in the streets and such.
30th August 2006

Hey Ki!! Well, I'm pretty much jealous of you. Don't forget to get me a cheap bow and arrow!! I hope you have fun, and be sure to get some pictures of some of those "muchachos"!!!
30th August 2006

Glad to hear you got there safely. Enjoy your first weeks and soak in the surroundings. As for the muchachos...remember JETT, NETP. Take care of Colleen-ah. Ciao
31st August 2006

Wish I was there!
So glad to hear your having so much fun Kiley. It was neat to get your travelblog. I will feel like I'm experiencing your whole trip right along with you. Can't wait to see pictures of the gorgeous mountains, etc. Hope you get some hot water soon - you know 4 girls can use up alot of hot water. Keep having fun and watch out for those muchachos !! I don't want them hitting on my niece. Love ya lots and can't wait to hear from you again. Be safe. Love, Aunt Nancy

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb