The Middle of the world


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 16th 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited the equator very touristy but well worth it! Of course I stood with a foot in each hemisphere. We visited the actual one and the pretend one. There is a museum at the actual one where you can do all kinds of proof experiments. We did the water spinning both ways and then stright down (I made sure I videoed this!) I was quite excited cos I´ve always never been quite sure whether people were just lying when they said it was different in each hemisphere - I forgot to check in Swaziland!

I also balanced an egg on a nail apparently it is easier on the equator I got a certificate for that I´m contemplating framing it when I get home!

I was a little gutted tho cos I must have a really good sense of balance . You´re not suppose to walk heel to toe with your armsout and eyes shut on the equator but I found it very easy. Nobody else could do it so I felt quite left out!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb