You stay here, take my pocket knife, use it if you have to, I am going to the summit!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
May 27th 2012
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The ValleyThe ValleyThe Valley

Views from atop the Teleferico of Quito.
For our first desayuno (breakfast) we ventured into New Quito, and ate in a small cafe. Our meal consisted of cafe con leche, huevos (coffee and eggs) and a slab of dark chocolate made from Ecuador's finest cocoa beans. It was the perfect breakfast. Shortly after breakfast, but not before stopping at a local panaderia/pasteleria (bread or pastry shop) and indulging in a fine powered pastry and sweeet bread dipped in chocolate...yum... we headed to the Teleferico. The Teleferico is a gondola style lift(and in fact the highest aerial lifts in the world) which provides a scenic journey up Volcan Pichincha. The start of the ride is at approximately 5800 feet, and takes about 8 to 10 minutes to ascend to the point where one can enjoy the views.Thereafter, hiking trails offer those that dare, the opportunity to hike to the summit of Pichincha. Sunil and I couldn' t have picked a better day (clear skies) to take advantage of this opportunity for breathtaking views so we attempted the hike to the top of Pichincha, an inactive volcano, just to clarify 😊. We started the hike and make it up quite a way, before i personally could not keep up with my brother, who would definitely be categorized as a 'fit hiker'. I knew that in no time he would make it to the top, and did not want him to miss this once in a lifetime opportunity, so I told him to go on without me. He had the biggest grin on his face, and said, 'you stay here, take my pocket knife, use it if you have to, I am going to the summit!' We parted our ways I took my backpack off and lay there in the tall grass simply taking in the sun, unforgettable scenery and silence. A half hour or so had passed before I got up and started up the trail again anticipating running into my brother. It was not before long that I saw someone running down the hill. He had in fact made it to the top! It was a win win for both of us that day; each taking advantage of the opportunities that enticed us the most! -Raksha


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



27th May 2012

AMAZING!!
The pictures look great.. I going to log in everyday to experience this trip as well. Of course Sunil, Mr. Fit made it to the top. Imagine if mom and dad went:) Your breakfast at the cafe sounds delicious. So how long did it take Sunil to climb the summit? You guys lucked out with the clear skies!!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb