¡el Tim ha llegado! - 28 horas en Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
June 17th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

Si, I write to you from 2808m, 0´00´´0´´´ (or near enough) and the tropical high of 20c.
I have missed out a large, and important, part of my time in Los Estados Unidas, but I will return to that in due course; because you want to hear about Ecuador!

14 June - 10:30pm local time (6 hours behind current UK time, and about half an hour behind scheduled time to change the tyres)
Touch down in Mariscal Sucre Auropuerto.

After a puzzingly long wait at immigration (despite not being subject to "extra special" treatment as I was in the US) and a long wait for my luggage (which turned out to actually be waiting for me on the floor by another carousel), I stepped outside into the cool high-altitude air and found my chauffeur. Despite having landed many times in many different airports, this was only the third time that somebody was actually standing there waiting for me. It was nice to be able to brush aside the many taxi drivers and instead get a lift from the man patiently waiting with a sign saying "Escuela Simon Bolivar - Brandon Smith, Tim Crocker, Andy Jones". As Mr Crocker hadn´t turned up, he was willing to take me. Then Brandon (nice US chap) waited not so patiently for Mr Jones who turned out (or rather didn´t) to be a no-show.

11:30pm
Hostal LÁuberge.

A quick check-in and I´m shown my room. And a nice room it is too, with comfortable bed and ensuite. Dump my stuff then straight to the common area for a beer and a chat with some of the other travellers.

15 June - 00:30
Bed.

Agreed to meet up with Ben the next morning for breakfast and to head to a bar he knows to watch the football (Ecuador v Costa Rica).

06:00
Bed

Woken up by the sun.

07:30
Out of bed

Why is it that all the holidays I go on seem to involve getting up as early or earlier than I would at home for work? Meet Ben and head off to the bar.

08:20
"The Village" Bar

After wandering the streets of the new town trying to find the bar we finally succeed. Ecuador have already scored their first goal. We settle down with a coffee, beer and sandwich.

10:00
The streets

Ecuador have won 3:0 and the capital is in full celebratory mode. We head to the centre to where everyone is dancing and cheering in the street and the cars are driving by beeping their horns. A great atmosphere. We decide to get another beer and to drink it in. I buy an Ecuadorian flag and find this is a sure-fire way to make friends.

12:00
The hostel

Sit down and watch the rest of the England v TT match. Great last minute goals. Not quite the same mood of celebration somehow.

13:20
La Escuela Simón Bólivar

I start my first Spanish lesson, with my teacher Syra (I think). A bit tired.


17:00
As above

Lessons over, I take up the offer of two hours of salsa classes. Don´t do too badly.


21:00
Ditto

After dinner, catch a taxi back to the school to meet up with some other students for a night out. As it´s the first night out for a few of us, it promises to be a good one.

16 June - 03:00
Bed

The night more than lives up to the promise - talking, drinking and practising my Spanish and Salsa skills with the local Chicas .


(Photos to come...)

Tim x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb