America del Sur!!!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
February 13th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Okay,
I'm finally starting my own blog too keep you guys out there all over the world, what's going on in America del Sur!
So, where to start?
Well I think that's kinda easy.

The Flight
To make it short: Maria and I arrived early on the airport, got into the first plane and went to Madrid. There I wanted to meet a friend from old times, but unfortunately we were in different Terminals and therefore missed us. Perhaps I will visit her in Bogota after the internship. Would be cool.
Next part, Madrid - Quito, via Guayaquil (was a little suprise as this stop was not mentioned in our flight details). However, back to the important stuff: During the whole journey of 18hrs I did not watch one single movie! Holy crap what was up with me!?! Nevertheless we arrived safely in Quito and luckily our backpacks, too! Due to the feedback on the airline we were not so sure about this, especially with the two stops!

What next?
Ahh yes, QUITO!!!!! We made it!
On the other hand, time to say goodbye to my beloved one...
One last kiss, the opened the door and off we went! Both of us saw immediately our contact person (cool to get picked up from someone holding a sign with your name it 😊 ) and that was basically it.
Both of us on the way to our new homes. Maria to Conocoto and me to the absolut tourist centre of Quito, La Mariscal. My new home, the Hotel Fuente de Piedra II, is quite okay and I have everything I need.
However I was the first few days in a room which only had windows in the roof (not so nice), but I moved and now I'm staying in a nice room with a large window. The sun greets me almost everyday in my large bed 😊 and the bathroom is also okay. The overall Wifi makes it easy to stay connected. Yeees I know, I could have used this more in the past 😉
The staff is also nice, though I had to get used to the security guys 24/7 at the entrance, but they are chilled.
Also to get your bed freshly made every day and get some nice breakfast with eggs, just exactly as I want them, but I think I can deal with those ones.

My Internship placement
My new work is actually just across the street and therefore I get out of the hotel at 8.59 and arrive at 8.59, could be worse. So I'm starting at 9:00 - 12:00, one hour brake to eat something and the continue from 13:00 - 18:00.
Up to now my work is not really that exciting, as I have to translate the whole programme from english to german, as my company attends at the ITB and therefore wants to be perpared...
Well at least I have read already some interesting excursions and know where we operate.
Unfortunately the office does not have so many windows and as sundawn is already at 7pm or even earlier I'm missing the sun almost completely during the week... What do we learn from this!? Use the weekend!

So this is my current situation, for the other activities I will start a new chapter.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb