Back in the game!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
February 3rd 2011
Published: February 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I´m back!

As my avid followers (I believe there are four of you...) will have noted, my blog has been untouched for a week. This is due in part to being bed-ridden for a couple of days. I´ll spare you the details but it begins with d and ends in h...not at all pleasant but was only a matter of time I suppose.

I've moved to Quito New Town (or "gringolandia" as it´s known) which is certainly different to the Old Town though I'd say the nickname is a little harsh as it's not exactly swarming with yanks, though the ammenities are certainly tailored for the "gringos". I've managed a couple of nights out with some of the English teachers here which has been good fun, though my participation on the dance floor has been limited thus far as you need a B grade in Salsa to even step onto the floor. All in good time!

I´m making in-roads as far as teaching posts go, though I'm leaning towards a voluntary placement outwith the city up in the mountains in an effort to escape the smog. No such thing as catalytic convertors here - if a bus takes off in front of you, you can practically chew on the fumes!

More photos to follow.

Hasta luego!

Gordon






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Independance Monument, Quito Old TownIndependance Monument, Quito Old Town
Independance Monument, Quito Old Town

"A los 10 eroes del 10 de agosto 1809" In memory of the 10 freedom fighters killed in the uprising of 1809 in Quito.


3rd February 2011

Surely they would allow you on the dance floor for a bit of Guiness fuelled air guitar!!! Have they never seen a Scotsman in Snobs nightclub its a sight to behold.
4th February 2011

Dance floor
My feet are tapping already Gordon. I'll be out pronto!
5th February 2011

Cool photos
Hi mate, Aright? Glad you made it across. Looks completely different from Milan but smog is just as bad. Sorry to hear about the garrys, just ask for some bread and water.
11th February 2011

Alright Dougie...good to hear from you! All good now. Just arrived on the Andean Farm where I'll be spending the next 2 months volunteering...its a far cry from the hustle and bustle of Quito! Hope all is well in Kilbarchan! Gordon
11th February 2011

Hi Clare good to hear from you. Thats a cracking photo of James on facebook with his big blue eyes! All good here...I've just arrived on the Andean farm where I'll be spending the next 2 months volunteering. It's off the beaten track to say the least!! Hope you are all well! Gordon

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb