Back in Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
July 1st 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, we kind of got stuck back in Quito for a few days because I promised my friend, Rafael, that I would do him a favor. A few years ago, Rafael was a volunteer at an organization in a small town just outside Quito. The organization, SEMBRES, is dedicated to teaching children about the importance of sustainable living: organic farming, recycling, composting, reducing erosion, etc. It’s really an awesome organization. Anyway, Rafael volunteered for this organization for several months, during which time he became the godfather of a child (they held a ceremony and everything). Well, the child’s family is very poor and they don’t have access to things like healthy food, vitamins, toys, etc. So I promised Rafael that while in Quito I would find this family and bring them some goods. But first I had to get in touch with SEMBRES in order to help me track them down.

We got back to Quito on a Saturday, but had to wait until Monday to reach the organization. So, we spend a couple of days not doing too much. Sunday I was really sick and got food poisoning for the 2nd time this trip (the first time was in Medellin, I think I forgot to mention it). I’m quite certain that both times were from eating bad chicken, so I decided to go back on my vegetarian diet to avoid another night of vomiting. So far, so good.

On Monday, I called SEMBRES and told them we were on our way. We took a bus to Pomasqui, the little town they live in about 20 minutes outside Quito. We found the organization’s office, had a tour of the place, and an employee brought us to the family’s house. Of course they had no idea we were coming because there is no way to contact them. When we arrived, 2 children were there, but no parents and no Michael. So we waited a little while until all 5 children and the mother came home. It was a slightly awkward visit, but they were very appreciative and it was nice to be able to give them some much-needed things. The boys seemed to really like the toys I brought as well.

After we took the bus back to Quito, we walked around the Mariscal district, which is the more upscale “gringo” part of town. It was really nice with a big park full of playgrounds, nice restaurants, and shopping. Much more modern than the other parts of Quito.

The next day we left for Baños.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Sembrar EsperanzaSembrar Esperanza
Sembrar Esperanza

Growing Hope


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb