Exit Galapagos, enter Gringoland


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 20th 2009
Published: November 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So after the four day tour,I had 10 days left at the station. Our group was slowly departing, the loss of Phil being the first. More drinks at the station bar for Nush´s leaving do,too many games of Ring of Fire for my liking and the loss of Mel at the weekend lead me to think that I wanted to leave a couple of days early,headback to Qutio and do some sightseeing around the area before the beginning of my next tour. Only it hasn´t really worked outlike this. My intention was to leave Thursday or Friday 12or 13th of Nov. However,my flight was changed to Tuesday 10th Nov, them quite lovingly telling me on the Monday. So, I was leaving the following day, an abrupt end. Packing was qucik and messy,and although I hadn´t bought anything significant,did my gear fit into the bag, did it balls. My last afternoonI picked oranges,got bitten by more Carmelita bugs and took myself off for a final shower in the waterfall. A final bit of time spent in production with Alycat, catching the rays and taking pictures of all my hard work including my significant treefell and before I new it is was my last bar night. I drowned my sorrows with a bottle of rum to myself,cheers Aly for getting both the blue lads out to mark the occassion. A final spoon in Cesar´s with a certain somebody and it was my leaving day.
That final taxi journey was awful, have never felt my heart that heavy in all my life and it dawned on me the truly amazing experience the Galapagos had been. The jungle had well and truely become my home and although I´d wanted to leave a little earlier I couldn´t believe that nearly 6 weeks had passed and how strongly I´d felt about the place,how much I´d grown to love it. have learnt a lot about myself in a short space of time,it has definately changed me for the better and my life in England seems like another world away now.
Tearful goodbye´s the the airport ensued and before I knew it I was back on the mainland at f¿*king Guyaquil again. Turn the plane around,I want to go home!!!! Arrived at Quito at 6pm, single woman gringa bedtime unless you fancy getting mugged so I had to find a hostel sharpish.I came across one, turns out it had fallen straight out of Bavaria, a insanely German guy called Kuyt with a massive hund!!
I won´t go into details about how the 10 days in Quito have panned out but they haven´t been great including an emergency trip to the Hospital, loosing 200 dollars and my camera broken in transit. Though Í did have lucnch with two nuns at one point. Basically,money heamorrhaging from my tempermental travel account. However grimness over, I´m on the move again tomorrow (Quito has not been kind to me) beginning my first tour,inital stop, the Amazon jungle, ahhhh, Home!!!
I will keep you posted with my adventure through the rest of Ecuador, Peru and a little slice of Bolivia but when I next get to the internet cafe,who knows.

So, to everybody whom has made my Galapagos stay the wonderful, interesting, amazing experince it was thank you. I´ve laughed my way through it all,well most of it and for that alone it was worth it. You´ve all been noted in the memory bank,from the obvious candidates whom haven´t heard the last of me to legends like Miguel, David from the bar, the other taxi driver who wasn´t Layo with the good CD and will remain there for a long time to come. You live a fabulous place and are so,so lucky to do so.
But, now,I´m walking confidently in the direction of my dreams, being eastwards into a shoal of Pirhanas!!
Ciao for now x x x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb