Momentos Bonitos


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 13th 2009
Published: November 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For the last month or so, I’ve been eating dinner with the people every night at the downtown Center in my break in between classes, and it has been such a blessing. In the beginning, I thought it would drain me, and granted I am tired by the time I get to 6pm, BUT it is definitely one of my favorite parts of the day.

Tonight, I sat with a few of my first grade girls and some other kids. One of my first graders, Evelyn, had a lollipop ring on her finger and was sucking on it with a smile on her face. She told me that Marisol, who was sitting on the other side of me, had bought it for her. That’s a beautiful act in itself, since it’s not like these kids have much money in the first place. Marisol said it was no big deal because it was only 5 cents. Then, towards the end of dinner, a little 2 year old who is new to the Center (meaning that they are worse off), came up to say hi to me and she saw the lollipop on Evelyn’s finger. Myleidi pointed at it, and Evelyn without hesitating let Myleidi have a lick. Well, little Myleidi is known for asking for ANY food she can get her hands on, especially candy, and she kept pointing at it and Evelyn kept giving her licks. I said, “Evelyn, you know that she’s not going to go away until that lollipop is gone,” and again, without hesitating and with such a sweet smile on her face, Evelyn took the ring off her finger and stuck it in Myleidi’s mouth. It’s like she did it without even thinking about it, like she understood that Myleidi has less than she does and wouldn’t get to eat a lollipop unless someone gifted it to her.

It reminds me of this song “Find love and give it all away.” Clearly someone has shown Evelyn enough love to be able to give it away so easily, which is so beautiful to see in a 6 year old, and it reminds me to be more generous with all that I have.

Among all the craziness of my hectic schedule and times of lost patience, these are the beautiful moments I treasure that make up my day. ☺


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb