Quito - Summary


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 31st 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just as planned, the beginning of November brings about change in my travels. I will be moving to the island of San Cristobal, which is a few hours off the coast of Ecuador. A local family is "ädopting" me for the next few months while I volunteer at Hospital Oskar Jandl. My experience in Quito has been a very memorable and unique one. I have learned many valuble lessons about Ecuador, Latin America, and life in general. By quickly adapting to this new lifestyle I was able to make the most of my month in Quito. I not only learned the ways of a new culture, but also the ways of a big city. Before this trip taking a metro bus in Ottawa was an intimidating task for me, let alone taking a bus in a place where the language and way of life was completely foreign. I now jump on the bus with ease, and can hum along to all the top hits on the Spanish radio. I might even barter with a local vendor selling "papas fritas" seat to seat.
My living arrangements in Quito offered me the perfect amount of structure and independence. I have met many amazing people who share the interest of learning new things and living life to the fullest. Not a moment has gone by in the past month that I haven't appreciated everything I am experiencing, whether it be Mt. Cotopaxi or Isablle's cooking. It's hard to imagine that this is only a fraction of my adventure, and I am very excited to begin the next!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



5th November 2009

hahaa
you can ride busses....GOOD...not like our little adventure in ottawa i take it?haHAHAHAAHAHAH

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1024kb