Fiesta de Pizza


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
April 28th 2009
Published: April 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I think I’ve written about the generosity of these kids here before, but this experience is definitely worth sharing.

I mentioned in my last entry that my boys English class won their English skit. That was amazing in itself and such a victory, but I wanted to continue the celebration with a pizza party for our last class before Easter. This was the first really nice thing I’ve done for them (as in I haven’t taken them on a field trip or anything yet) because they have been such a tough class and really haven’t earned anything with their behavior.

I kept seeing my boys throughout the day on Wednesday, and they kept asking about the party. They were SO excited! A bunch of boys also asked what they could bring. I told them it wasn’t necessary, but a couple boys ended up bring bags of chips so they could contribute to the party.

I got enough pizza for them to each have 2 slices, and I also brought soda as well as one cookie per person. The first thing I noticed was the expressions on the kids’ faces as they ate their first slice of pizza. I have never seen anyone enjoy, savor pizza as much as these boys in my entire life. The next thing I noticed was that no one ate their second slice, and a couple didn’t even finish their first slice. They all asked me for extra napkins, bags, and boxes to take home their second slice along with chips and their cookie. One boy didn’t eat either of his pieces of pizza! He only had one or two bites of the first piece. He wrapped up the rest to take home. Another boy asked for a plastic bag to take home his soda!

I was just blown away that they all wanted to take the majority of their food home to their parents or their brothers and sisters. And it wasn’t even a question for them, and they were SO grateful for the whole party. It continually amazes me how generous these kids are with the little that they have and the little that they receive.



Advertisement



28th April 2009

that's so cute!
i'm amazed by that too! you can tell that your kids have such great spirits :)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb