A short update


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 31st 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
Let me first say that I really appreciate the nice things people have said about this blog: I am really blown away by how many people are actually reading it!

Well I am getting closer to finding a plan for myself for the next while. What I know for sure is that I am leaving Quito on Saturday morning with my friend Tessa, bound for Riobamba. From there I think I will make my way to the coast for some much needed sun (it is usually overcast in Quito, except for some notable exceptions; notable because I get sunburnt almost every time). I am thinking that from there I will take a sailing trip around the galapagos (hopefully volunteering to save some cash) and then, if sailing still appeals to me, I think that I am going to look for a boat to work on to get down the Chile (I hear that it is doable and really quite neat). I am going to then (finally!) do some real hiking in Patagonia and spend some time there. Carnivale, celebrated quite well in Montanita, a coastal party town, might make it on the list, but I don't know my timing really.

I am really starting to get a feel for the Ecuadorian way of life and I must say that it is very impressive. For one thing, young Ecuadorians are typically very politically aware. For instance, all around the city you see spray painted words demanding that the US honor trade agreements, that corrupt politicians step down, or that globalization be halted. Another sign are the frequent protests in the city: try once or twice a week! Mostly students and always violent, the protestors are usually calling for corrupt politicians to stop allowing the USA to "rob us of our nation's enormous wealth". I was walking around this morning, happily lost, and stumbled upon the US embassy. Half of the people walking by spit on the ground in front of the embassy. It is clear that, at least in Quito but I suspect the same of much of Ecuador and South America, there is a lot of anti-USA sentiment. And I can't say I blame them.

I have been reading about the IMF's involvement in South America (in a book called "Globalisation and its Discontents", very good) and how totally mismanaged and destructive it has been (save for Chile, perhaps). It is wild just how ideologically motivated the IMF is and sad to see the resulting poverty (most notably in Bolivia). It is clear that people have not forgotten here and that they are, rightfully, distrustful of US (and European, to a lesser extent) influence on their economy.

Anyway, nothing much to report as far as doings. Yesterday a friend and I went to the "meseo de Guayasamin", an art gallery featuring Ecuador's most famous artist as well as his collection of Ecuadorian artefacts. What an amazing time it was, he is a fantastic artist. We also, while there, came accross a wedding reception and got the chance to join in for a bit. Apparently Ecuadorians, when they are getting married, celebrate for six days prior to the wedding - 3 for the bride and 3 for the groom. Lots of music, lots of animals (as gifts: they tie live guinea pigs' and chickens' feet to sticks and just hand them over), lots of drink, and LOTS of family. Everyday I am amazed at how close family is here.

I have also noticed that purpose and meaning is sewn into the lifestyle as opposed to, I think, Canada where the culture promotes the idea that we are all responsible for finding (or creating) meaning for ourselves. I doubt that many Ecuadorians experience the, as I have called, an existential angst that is too common at home. I would guess that life's meaning and purpose seems obvious, if apprehended non-reflectively, to most people here. It is very different, although a subtle difference.

Anyway time for a spanish lesson (four left)
ciao for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



20th March 2006

Thanks
I cant wait to get overthere. buchananrtb@yahoo.com Erie PA.

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb